Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Eh. This was OK. I worked from home today. When I do, I like to make a nice dinner (I rarely have time to make a sit-down dinner due to my daily commute to Chicago). Because this wasn't too complicated and called for ingredients I had in my pantry, I decided to give it a try. While I didn't "hate" this, I wasn't "wowed" either. My hubby liked this a little more than I did, so I decided on a 3 star rating. Afraid that my final dish would lack flavor, I made a few changes. Keep in mind, I have never ordered chicken scampi at the "chain" and have nothing to compare this to. Here are my changes: a) added a t each of dried parsley / basil and 1/2 t oregano (to my flour), b) cut my chicken into cubes (personal preference) and c) subbed chicken broth for the cooking liquid called for. Neither the spices or broth enhanced the end product, so I'm not sure I'd recommend adding / substituting them. Served with garlic breadsticks, this was a decent meal, but not one I'm anxious to repeat. Thanks anyways, Julie. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I love cooking & trying new recipes. After looking over this recipe and reading the reviews, I have to agree on Sweetie Pies version. I like making everything by scratch and it came out delicious!! Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
it was ok not that great though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I did as another reviewed suggested and made a white wine butter sauce instead of using the alfredo sauce. But I did everything else the same. This was a HUGE hit, my husband has already begged me to make it again! It was not quite as good as the chicken scampi at olive garden but I was still very satisfied :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I used an orange pepper instead of green and made my own alfredo sauce. I think this wouldn't have been as good had I not made my own sauce. I thought this was great as did my oldest boy though my youngest and husband were indifferent. This didn't really need the flour coating. I'd like to try this with a little fresh lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe almost has it right except for the Alfredo Sauce. I was hoping for something similar to the chicken scampi from Olive Garden. This was sort of close but not exactly. The sauce from Olive Garden does not taste like alfredo sauce and it's a different consistency. So I did an experiment. It seems like the resaturant version is something like a white wine butter cream sauce? So I followed steps one and two (the same way as written) but when it came time for the sauce I just melted butter, then sauted the garlic in the melted butter, then added half and half (cream) and some white wine. In my opinion, this turned out much better. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Good and easy to make. Used left over chicken fajita meat which made it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Not exactly like the restaurant but very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was Just like what i use to get from my favorite Italian restaurant.followed directions as submitted. DH wants it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I decided to follow sweetie pies review almost exactly but didn't have white wine so I used half sherry and half chicken stock. It was "almost" like olive gardens chicken scampi but was missing something...maybe needed more garlic (is that possible?). It was FANTASTIC, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States