Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I did not read the other reviews until after I had purchased the ingredients or I might have made the white sauce from scratch. That said, the restaurant version of this used to be my favorite meal there. A couple of years ago we went gluten free, so bye bye scampi. I was able to use this recipe to make a pretty close replica. I did buy Classico 4 cheese alfredo (it's gluten free) and added seasoning to my rice flour mix for the chicken. I also added a tablespoon of butter and 3 large cloves of garlic, as well as subbing the chicken broth for the pasta water. Gluten Free pasta creates an extremely starchy water so I would not have used that regardless. We have 1 tiny serving left. My extremely picky 17 & 12 year olds had seconds. That rarely happens, so I'd say this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I would just cook the peppers and onions more than the stated time to get them more tender. Other than that, no complaints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This recipe was great - I used light Alfredo sauce as suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Loved this recipe and was a big hit. I think the pasta should be cut in half.I used Classico four cheese pasta which worked very well. I spiced up the chicken to taste while cooking. Next time I'm going to sprinkle some fresh three or four cheese mix over the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
4 stars because there is either not enough sauce or too much noodle, however it works out it left the dish with only subtle hints of taste and alot of starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I've been making this for many years, with just a few minor changes: I add a few sliced mushrooms and some fresh basil; I just sauté the chicken, seasoned with a little salt and pepper, in evoo without the flour; mix together the cooked chicken, cooked vegies and cooked pasta (I usually use penne). I don't see any need to add the pasta water or chicken broth. Rather than jarred sauce I make my own, a very good one to try is Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce on AR submitted by Dawn Carter. I don't use the fresh parsley, just a couple of shakes of Italian seasoning. This turns out really good; add a salad and voila! Dinner is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Yes! I made this recipe for a delicious dinner for 12! I used DeCecco Bucatini spaghetti pasta, and cooked it the night before. I also cooked up lots of sweet Italian sausage & sliced mushrooms the night before. Day of dinner party, sliced half the sausages into Bite size pieces, which I tossed into the mixture along with the mushrooms...added giant flavor to the dish! I kept a dozen sausages whole to serve along side the chicken.. It was a bit time consuming to prepare, but an easy one pot dish to Serve when guests arrived! Thank you for this delicious recipe! We will serve it again...I am sure we will have requests! Nancy from NH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
It's a good chicken recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was ok but not very exciting, even though I upped the garlic quite a bit as others had said it was quite bland. We ate it but I don't think I would make again - family were complimentary but not really enthusiastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States