Restaurant Style Chicken Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I made this as listed, and it was very good. I think making the changes other reviewers suggested will make it a 5 star dish. I will add taco seasoning to the chicken next time, as it could use a little more kick. I also like the idea of adding black beans and corn to the mixture, to make it a little more substantial and get some extra veggies into my kids at the same time. Heating the chips first for 5 minutes would help keep them crisp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This recipe is awesome!!!! My husband loved it...so did the kids! I used Kirkland Signature Premium Chunk (Costco brand)canned Chicken Breast (12.5oz can) It really worked out well. I also used shredded cheddar and mozzerella cheese, cause that's what I had in the house! Next time I will try adding refried beans, black olives, and jalapeno peppers to add a little spice! I already have my family hounding me to make it again! Very easy to make. Recommend you try this one first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Mmmmmmm, nachos are the best! I used ground turkey in this recipe along with a can of black beans, cumin, jalapeno peppers and garlic and onion powders. In addition to the shredded cheeses I decided to go all the way and also make a cheese sauce using cheddar and pepper jack. I don't like soggy nachos, so I baked the chips by themselves to really crisp them up and then put the meat mixture on top added the cheese and served. This is the FIRST time I've ever seen hubby eat nachos. Delicious Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I have made this recipe literally dozens of times since discovering it, in multiple ways, and I believe I have tweaked it enough to get the perfect nacho recipe! As is, this recipe gets 4 stars. The chicken mixture is a little bland, and I prefer more toppings (olives, jalapenos, etc.) on my nachos. My tips and changes for the perfect chicken nachos (according to my tastes, at least): 1. Use rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, or cook your own chicken breast first. Do NOT use canned chicken or the pre-cooked, packaged chicken chunks! They give it a weird flavour and don't shred as nicely. 2. Shred, don't chop, the chicken. It's so much smoother and melt-in-your-mouth-y this way. 3. Add taco seasoning (or your own blend of spices) to the onions while you saute them. Use a lot so it coats the chicken when you add it. 4. Along with the chicken, stir in some rinsed canned black beans and some frozen corn kernels (don't need to thaw). Don't use a "southwestern-style" salsa that has these ingredients included, as I found that it didn't provide the texture contrast you get from using canned beans or the bites of sweetness you get from frozen corn. 5. Pre-bake the tortilla chips ~5min before adding the chicken mixture so the chips stay crispy. 6. Add more toppings! I add sliced black olives and lots of sliced jalapenos along with the tomatoes. Sometimes I will also toss on some diced green or red bell pepper for crunch. Serve with sour cream for the perfect nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was simply excellent!! I used the advice to warm the chips before adding the chicken mixture. I purchased the Tostitos Gold chips because they are thicker and it worked out very well. After cooking the chicken I added a taco mix for more kick and used a mixture of mild and medium salsa. I used montery pepper jack cheese and some cheddar. I added black olives for flavor and color. All my friends raved and wanted the recipe! I even saved a small plate for the next day and it was still delicious warmed up in the oven. Thanks for a recipe I will use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
very good! we topped the tortilla chips with refried beans (canned) and then added the chicken mix etc. Also, didn't used the tomato, just salsa was fine. Quick and tasty!The whole family enjoyed it:) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
These were really, really, really good! They really did taste like they were from a restaurant. I seasoned the chicken with taco seasoning, added some refried beans and served with sour cream! My hubby and I ate them for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I give this 5 stars because it was extremely easy to make, had a yummy taste as is, and allows you to make lots of changes/additions. I added some extra seasonings to the chicken, I sprinkled some paprika, garlic powder and just a hint of chile pepper in addition to the salt and pepper. In the future I was thinking of adding lots more chicken, maybe even some beans and maybe corn. Regardless, I really liked this recipe, had a wonderful taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Amazing recipe! I cubed the chicken instead of shredding it (just a personal preference) and also added 1/4 of a bag McCormick Mild Taco Seasoning Mix. Jalapeno peppers, diced green chiles, and pepper-jack as well as cheddar cheese completed it! I also warmed the chips prior to baking with the chicken/cheese mixture. I also make my own salsa, and it is a perfect addition to this recipe! Thanks for sharing! Extra Note: The way I make these are for spicy lovers! They are super hot and super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SexyCadence311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Like everyone else says about this recipe - besides being versatil for a variety of different peoples tastes in food, it's easy & tasty! The first time I made this dish it was a little dry. Today it was great! Be sure you don't put it in too large of a baking pan. I used a pyrex 10" pie plate the second time. Thanks "good cook" Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States