Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Familiar with Chinese cooking, I recognized this as a classic blend of seasonings and ingredients as well as an accurate cooking method. Therefore, I prepared this exactly as written - and it was perfect, just as I had anticipated it would be. My only criticism, and the only thing I did differently, was that the recipe calls for round steak, which I don't think is suited for this style of cooking. I used a New York strip steak, but tenderloin or sirloin would have worked well too. The ingredients in the marinade are so traditional and so key to the dish that I don't really see how you could make any changes and get a fair result. This was just delicious and made hubs and I members of "the clean plate club." Just a tip - if you partially freeze the steak for a half hour or so until semi-firm you will find this so much easier to cut into the thin slice so necessary for this style of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
746 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is delicious, I made one change because I have a friend who worked in a Chinese restaurant for years and she told me the secret to always tender beef even using tough cuts of meat is to cut the beef into strips then place in a plastic bag overnight with 1/2 t baking soda. Before preparing the recipe, rinse the beef off twice and dry on paper towels. Other than that difference, I followed the recipe to a T. Next time might add a few dried chilies, because I like the heat, but the sauce is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
OK... if you don't like people who don't follow the recipe, yet review it anyway - then don't read any further! I followed the cooking instructions, but I didn't have some of the ingredients, so I substituted, using what I had on hand. I didn't have oyster sauce or sherry, so I used hoisin and extra amounts of soy sauce, and I substituted brown sugar for the white - just because. Instead of fresh, I used powdered ginger, onion, and garlic, which I added to the marinade. I marinated the meat for 2 hours, which was good - but overnight would be better. I used the Normandy frozen veggie blend (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots) from Sam's and added a large sweet onion. I don't measure anything - just guesstimate, dump, and taste-test until it suits me. It turned out very tasty! I'll make this version as written when I have all the ingredients - but, I'll be doing my own version again too! If this one is half as good as mine, I'll be happy happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Most excellent! I tried it with beef and also with chicken. I really like it with chicken. I will be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Wow. This was good. I wasn't able to make it exactly as written - didn't have oyster sauce or sherry. Used powder ginger instead of ginger root. And still, it all pulled together and had a really good flavor. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very good, but a little sweet and the sauce was a bit runny, more like a broth. I followed the recipe as written, but cut the sesame oil to one tsp as I'm not a big fan of the strong flavor/odor. I marinated the meat for about 6 hours. I will make this recipe again, but will omit the sugar and increase the corn starch (possibly mix a little with soy sauce and whisk it in before adding the broccoli back.) Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I LOVE this sauce. I actually have never made this recipe with beef, but I have made it several times with tofu, broccoli, carrots, onion, and red bell pepper. It comes out great every time!! Thank you! If you want to make this with Tofu, make sure you marinate the tofu with half of the sauce for 2-3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
VERY good!! Doesn't have the "exact" restaurant taste, but definitly a new addition to my recipe collection! I kept the ingredients the same other than I used chicken breast and doubled the sauce. I didn't think these changes changed the recipe so I could still give it an accurate rating. The second time I made this I added fresh mushrooms, water chestnuts and corn (the stuff commonly used in asian recipe's). Thanks Dianne!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Even my 17 month old ate it. I added some onions and didn't put ginger root, i didn't have any but did have fresh ginger paste. thank you dianne, wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherklenz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The beef is kinda tough if you just throw it in pan . If you parboil in diluted sauce for about 20 mins the meat is very tender as in restaurant style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States