Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
OK... if you don't like people who don't follow the recipe, yet review it anyway - then don't read any further! I followed the cooking instructions, but I didn't have some of the ingredients, so I substituted, using what I had on hand. I didn't have oyster sauce or sherry, so I used hoisin and extra amounts of soy sauce, and I substituted brown sugar for the white - just because. Instead of fresh, I used powdered ginger, onion, and garlic, which I added to the marinade. I marinated the meat for 2 hours, which was good - but overnight would be better. I used the Normandy frozen veggie blend (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots) from Sam's and added a large sweet onion. I don't measure anything - just guesstimate, dump, and taste-test until it suits me. It turned out very tasty! I'll make this version as written when I have all the ingredients - but, I'll be doing my own version again too! If this one is half as good as mine, I'll be happy happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Most excellent! I tried it with beef and also with chicken. I really like it with chicken. I will be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I usually don't try recipes that have few reviews but took a chance with this one and I must day that it's really tasty! I didn't have any sherry but it was good nevertheless! Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was good - the broccoli turned out great! I'll be using this recipe again. If you don't have sherry it might be a good idea to adjust the sugar to a little more to allow for it, but I think it would be okay without it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Everyone enjoyed this recipe! We added some extra veggies (carrots and green onions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
VERY good!! Doesn't have the "exact" restaurant taste, but definitly a new addition to my recipe collection! I kept the ingredients the same other than I used chicken breast and doubled the sauce. I didn't think these changes changed the recipe so I could still give it an accurate rating. The second time I made this I added fresh mushrooms, water chestnuts and corn (the stuff commonly used in asian recipe's). Thanks Dianne!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Sometimes we find this type of meal too salty but, using low sodium soy sauce, this was excellent! I must come to terms with the fact that I just do not like round steak, however, and will use chicken next time around. Quick and simple, this is a great busy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I felt that it was missing something. I will make again..experimenting with the sauce. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I've tried many beef and broccoli recipe and this is definitely the best one so far. I didn't like the smell of the sauce before cooking it, but it turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Familiar with Chinese cooking, I recognized this as a classic blend of seasonings and ingredients as well as an accurate cooking method. Therefore, I prepared this exactly as written - and it was perfect, just as I had anticipated it would be. My only criticism, and the only thing I did differently, was that the recipe calls for round steak, which I don't think is suited for this style of cooking. I used a New York strip steak, but tenderloin or sirloin would have worked well too. The ingredients in the marinade are so traditional and so key to the dish that I don't really see how you could make any changes and get a fair result. This was just delicious and made hubs and I members of "the clean plate club." Just a tip - if you partially freeze the steak for a half hour or so until semi-firm you will find this so much easier to cut into the thin slice so necessary for this style of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
640 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States