Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was awesome! I follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KPinck
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Better than any restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I had to change the recipe because my daughter has to eat Gluten Free and oyster sauce isn't GF, but this was great! I used a GF teriyaki sauce in place of the oyster sauce. I also didn't have sherry, so I used red wine. Otherwise I followed it as written. The sauce was delicious, but a little thin. Next time I'd add more cornstarch. Also, I'll marinate the meat for a few hours (at a minimum--maybe overnight) so it's more tender. This was a hit with both my teens too. They LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I reallllly wanted to give this 5 stars. The ingredients were perfect, and this is not any easy recipe to get right. But there were a couple problems. First off, who in their right mind saute's fresh garlic and ginger simply to throw it away?? Makes no sense - I minced it, sautee'd it and added it to the marinate. Second, the amount of marinate would be suitable for a recipe that uses, say 1/2 lb. of steak instead of 3/4. It's just not quite enough sauce as written. Lots of reviewers swear that you need to double the marinate. Well, I doubled the marinate and it was far too much - it was overpowering. I only get a hankering for Chinese food about once a year, and my son doesn't care for it at all. So when I make this again next year, I will follow the recipe but reduce the steak and broccoli amounts, and add the garlic & ginger to the marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I am giving 4 stars only because I substituted so I can't review the recipe as written. What I made was delicious! The differences were: green beans, sautéed onion, grape seed oil, chili flakes, ginger paste - I think that's all. I marinated the meat with everything and minced garlic and the ginger. What I wish I had done was pull the meat out of the marinade and brown/sautéed then add it back in. I will be using this simple tasty recipe again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Too much oyster sauce. If you doubled the thickener and added a little soy sauce and sugar it might have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this sauce with chicken and added carrots, mushrooms, bok choy and bean sprouts to the broccoli. Served over brown rice. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
What a versatile recipe! I've made it with chicken, beef and pork on separate occasions.. I've used vermicelle noodles with the chicken version, chow mein with the pork version..I used broccoli everytime..The kids and boyfriend eat it up and ask for more! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QT_Pii
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I was very hesitant to make this because there are sometimes even at a restaurant where I don't feel beef and broccoli has good flavor. I wanted something different so thought I would try this and loved it!!! I was so impressed with how delicious it was. The only difference is I made it with Goya yellow rice to bring out the flavors more. Will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Awesome and very easy to follow. I did not have oyster sauce so I used Hoisin sauce and added a bit of rice vinegar to marinade. I had milanesa beef steak to use which is thin and tender for a toddler with little teeth to bite thru. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Hubby loved it and it was quick to do. Will definitely do this one again. Thank you, Dianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States