Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
First off, those that say the oyster sauce made it fishy: oyster sauce has no fish in it. It is made from oyster mushrooms! Those that had tough beef cooked it too long. Those that said the sherry was too over-powering/strong probably used the cheap stuff. When cooking one should never use any alcohol one would not drink. That being said, I did find this a bit sweet. I used soy sauce from HI, (Aloha Gold) which has less sodium and much more flavor than Kikkoman. You can find it at any Asian market. I only gave it 4 stars, because of the excessive sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good on my first try! Next time I will add a table spoon extra soy sauce to create a little more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Double the sauce recipe...I would like this better on fried rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Overall, good. Not quite like the restaurant version, but pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Used this recipe before loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
It turned out salty despite my using low sodium soy sauce. Next time I'll reduce the amount of Oyster Sauce a little and that should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We enjoyed it. I used top sirlion and marinated it out of the fridge for 30min. It was very tender. I had to add more cornstarch to the sauce as it was very thin. I wish I knew of something to substitute for oyster sauce as I don't particularly care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Wow, the flavors really pop with this recipie. Followed it to a "T" and am loving it! If you like a bit more sauce then I recommend doubling the recipe. For our needs it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I really liked the flavor of this recipe! Next time I would double the sauce ingredients. I added onion and a bit of red bell pepper. I might add water chestnuts and mushrooms for a little pzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States