Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Just ate this for lunch ... OMG! This is the best Chinese Dish I've ever tried on this site. It surely is an instant hit in my family. Even my daughter who is the pickiest eater in the world loved it. Thanks Diane for this wonderful meal! I followed the other reviewer's recommendation of stirring 1/2 teaspoon baking soda on the beef strips overnight. Marinated the beef mixture for one hour. Then followed the entire recipe to the dot. Except for the meat, I used rib eye steak, since that's what I have and used white wine instead of sherry. The meat was so tender and the whole dish is so delish. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just_G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very good! followed the recipe to the letter and it tasted just like restaurant versions I've had. I used round steak and I cut it against the grain but it was still a little tough. I read that 'marinating' the beef in baking soda will tenderize it so I plan to try that and I'll comment here on how that worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
used white vinegar instead of sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I liked this but didn't love it. I am allergic to shellfish, so I had to omit the oyster sauce, which I do realize contributes to a lot of the flavor. I substituted fish sauce and beef broth for the oyster sauce and then made the recipe as directed and it turned out just a little less flavorful than I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Realy good I also added onions and mushrooms to the recipe. Realy yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
It really tastes like restaurant's! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
the oyster sauce made it so fishy tasting..was not good at ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
The best I have ever had! Made it exactly the way you said to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Kurt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
amazing....used naples34102's advice about the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Made this tonight for dinner. It turned out great. I cooked the meat for 2 mins. and added a little extra garlic and ginger. The whole family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States