Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Just got through eating this - LOVED it! I will be making again and again. I made exactly as stated except used strip steak as another reviewer suggested. So easy and so tasty. The sauce was awesome - better than most chinese places I've eaten beef and broccoli at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this today to hopefully have for lunch or dinner. I was told that oyster sauce is really strong. However, I wanted to follow the recipe as this stir-fry was different than most I had tried and I thought more authentic. Well, they were right, wow, the oyster sauce was all I could taste. I was fortunate to have also picked up a bottle of hoison sauce. I added more than a 1/3 of a cup of hoison sauce to mask the oyster sauce taste. After that, it was pretty good. Hopefully, when it cools, or I re-heat, the flavors will all blend. This recipe was interesting to try, but I guess I am still looking for what I consider an authentic stir-fry recipe or one closer to my favorite upscale Asian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Easy and delicious! Can't wait to have it again. I made it just like the directions said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made this exactly as written but will change it up the next time I make it, which will be soon. It had a great flavor but was too sweet for me. I had never used oyster sauce before & discovered (too late) that the second ingredient listed after oyster extract, is sugar. I will eliminate the white sugar, substitute a dry white wine (less sweet than sherry), add toasted sesame seeds & more cornstarch as my sauce was too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I didn't think this tasted like restaurant beef and broccoli, but it was good, and I will make it again. The sauce seemed salty to my tasted, so I omitted the soy sauce. The sauce turned out OK with that change. I also made about half again as much sauce. Next time I will add sliced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was not very good. The sherry and the sesame oil really over power this recipe. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I thought this recipe was outstanding! The only change I made was to add some finely chopped ginger to the final three minues of cook time after adding the broccoli back in. I did it just because I love ginger. I did learn thought that I also find the flavor of the sesame oil to be quite strong so I plan to cut back on that next time. Otherwise, this recipe is definitely going in my recipe box for a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieWilson6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Excellent. I did not have any fresh ginger, so added 1/8 tsp of Chinese 5 Spice to the marinade - Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
The oyster sauce ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I had to edit my earlier review, tried it again and made exactly as written. Very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States