Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Oh, boy are these great. I used sweetened dries carnberies in place of the cherries, and what a great flavor. I have given this recepie to everyone who has tried it. Don't miss this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
We loved this recipe! The scones are moister than most scones, and the maple adds a nice touch. My husband and father-in-law don't like fruits in bread, so I didn't add those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
These scones melt in your mouth. I used fresh maple syrup and dried cranberries. The recipe is large enough that you can freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I am not sure about the kids because they are in that picky stage, but I think these turned out great. I substituted about 1 cup of chopped walnuts in place of the dried cherries. These were terrific. I am thinking of topping them with a maple glaze drizzled over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This is by far the best scone recipe I have found. Substitute raisins soaked in orange juice for the cherries. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
If you want a good recipe look farther. If you want an EXCELLANT scone stop right here. I used dried cranberries in place of the cherries. and viola! Get ready to enjoy the applause!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These were really good, however, I thought that baking them at 425 deg. seemed high compared to a lot of other scone recipes I've seen, so (fortunately) I decided to bake them at 375 deg. Even though I only baked them for 15 minutes, they were still overly brown on the bottom, and a few actually burned on the bottom. My oven temperature is usually right on with recipes' baking temp. & time, so I was surprised that these were supposed to bake at 50 deg. higher than I baked them at, yet for the same time as I baked mine. Next time, I'll decrease the baking time further (perhaps 12 or 13 minutes at 375). I used dried cranberries. I was puzzled by the reference to "dried pears" in Step 4 of the recipe since they weren't mentioned as possible ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Scones turned out perfect with a wonderful maple flavor. I used crasins in place of the dried cherries. This is definitely a "keeper" that I will bake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I thought this recipe was great. I did'nt have any dried fruit, so I just made them without. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very good scone recipe! They came out very moist, not dry. Very tasty! I would highly recommend to all scone lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMMLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States