Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I served these for Christmas brunch and everyone really loved them. However, I think next time I will use more maple to give it more flavor. They need a little more punch, but I enjoy big flavors. I also used craisins instead of the dried cherries for cost effectiveness. I thought they were a nice compliment to the maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
WOW these are divine! I just used my pastry blender and I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar in the mixture. These are wonderful scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
perfect! I brushed them w/milk and a bit of ginger in it instead of egg white and did not have maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Words cannot describe how heavenly these are...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This dough was a perfect consistency, not too dry not too moist. It was so very flakey and so good out of the oven! I made it the night before for a breakfast buffet at work, and they were still light and flakey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I do not have a food process or but it mixed up just fine without one. I also substituted the dried cherries with dried cherry flavored cranberries (a lot less expensive). I used raw sugar for the tops instead of plain white sugar. These were a real hit with my family and co-workers. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These were great! I used dried blueberries in place of the dried cherries, as I'm a big fan of maple and blueberry flavors together, and it worked perfectly. I did not use a food processor and the dough came together quickly - the trick is not to handle too much, just pat together and lightly press into circles before cutting. We ate these plain - out of the oven they were so moist they didn't need anything else, but I wonder how they would go with some sort of maple infused cream. I'm sure I'll try it some day, as this is certain to become one of my regulars. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I love this recipe. I didn't have any maple extract so I just added more maple syrup. I used dried cranberries instead of cherries and I pressed the dough into a muffin pan. It still turned out really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
These scones are amazing! I made them this evening, as a surprise for my mom (she loves scones, as well as maple, so I figured it would be fitting), and even I was impressed by them (I'm usually very self-critical of my cooking!). I didn't have any dried cherries, so I used cherry-flavored dried cranberries, and I added some pecans, since my mom likes nuts. It was a great addition. Walnuts would have been good, as well. Overall, a real winner. They were easy to make, and turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
These were good, I would have liked more maple falovour though. I added peacans and raw sugar for the top. I didn't have time for a maple drizzle, but that would have been good too....next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States