Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
5 stars from all family members. Primarily for texture - great! These are sort of like Panera scones in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These are yummy! yes, the dough is very sticky, I ended up adding aboutt 1/3 flour to mine. But the trick really is to make sure you turn it out on a well floured surface and sprinkle it liberally with flour before trying to roll or press it out. When cutting them, I also found it helpful to dip my knife in flour between each cut. These are definitely worth making! They are wonderful with Apple Butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
these were OK, but they could've been better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live, Laugh, Love, Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These were my first attempt at scones - they were delicious! The maple flavour was there, but not terribly strong so they weren't overly sweet. I'm a huge maple fan and these totally hit the spot and they weren't hard to make! (I thought scones were hard to make!) I left out the cherries because I wasn't sure about them, a walnut or another type of nut would go well with this. This pairs well with the Christmas Brunch Casserole. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I'll bet this would be good with nuts. The dried cherries are so tasty, but the maple flavour barely comes through. Have to play with that a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good with walnuts! The texture/crumb strays a little from the classic scone; nontheless We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong but the batter was ridiculously runny. I had to add a lot of flour to get them into any sort of scone shape. The recipe sounded so good but the end result falls short. They were just so-so and too much work for something so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wonderful texture and very present flavor, but I don't really detect any maple in them, which is normal because maple is delicate and needs to be used in high quantities to achieve a subtle hint of it at all. But good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
These are the best Maple Oat Scones I've found so far. I'm looking fwd to messing with the ingredients to see if I can get closer to the Starbucks Maple Oat Nut Scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States