Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These are yummy! yes, the dough is very sticky, I ended up adding aboutt 1/3 flour to mine. But the trick really is to make sure you turn it out on a well floured surface and sprinkle it liberally with flour before trying to roll or press it out. When cutting them, I also found it helpful to dip my knife in flour between each cut. These are definitely worth making! They are wonderful with Apple Butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
these were OK, but they could've been better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live, Laugh, Love, Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These were my first attempt at scones - they were delicious! The maple flavour was there, but not terribly strong so they weren't overly sweet. I'm a huge maple fan and these totally hit the spot and they weren't hard to make! (I thought scones were hard to make!) I left out the cherries because I wasn't sure about them, a walnut or another type of nut would go well with this. This pairs well with the Christmas Brunch Casserole. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I'll bet this would be good with nuts. The dried cherries are so tasty, but the maple flavour barely comes through. Have to play with that a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good with walnuts! The texture/crumb strays a little from the classic scone; nontheless We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong but the batter was ridiculously runny. I had to add a lot of flour to get them into any sort of scone shape. The recipe sounded so good but the end result falls short. They were just so-so and too much work for something so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wonderful texture and very present flavor, but I don't really detect any maple in them, which is normal because maple is delicate and needs to be used in high quantities to achieve a subtle hint of it at all. But good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
These are the best Maple Oat Scones I've found so far. I'm looking fwd to messing with the ingredients to see if I can get closer to the Starbucks Maple Oat Nut Scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Wow! These scones are amazing! I'm not sure what it is, but they have this "taste" to them that is totally amazing! Perhaps it is the unsalted butter...or maybe the maple extract? Whatever it was, these scones smelled heavenly while they were baking and taste even better! I didn't have any cherries, so I used sweetened dried cranberries instead. I will be making them again, and might substitute chopped pecans for the dried cherries. Oatmeal Maple Pecan scones; what can top that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States