Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Oh my! Absolutely delish! Nothing more to say - delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Bingo! Great recipe. Instead of dried (and reconstituted) cherries, I used a mix of raisins, craisins, and chopped dates (not reconstituted) because that's what I had on hand; and for the same reason, I used plain greek yogurt, thinned with two tablespoons of milk, instead of buttermilk. I hate to waste anything, so I threw the second egg yolk into the mix, saving the white of that one for the "glaze." I added a little extra flour when patting into the "round" to compensate for the extra liquid. Sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Great recipe. I made the recipe as is just used yogurt in place of buttermilk, and used whole wheat flour for one of the cups of flour. And raisins for the cherrys. It was of perfect texture, not too sweet but sweet enough. Mixture was dry at first, just had to knead it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Was really surprised to not be impressed with these after reading the reviews. The softness of the dough was off-putting, and I found the flavor rather average, though I followed all instructions to the letter. Sorry, won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie O'Leary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These are excellent! I omitted the cherries just out of personal preference and used vinegar and milk in place of the buttermilk. I baked them at 400 degrees and topped them with a maple glaze instead of the sugar. For glaze: melt 2 Tbsp butter and 1/4 c maple syrup in a saucepan over medium heat. Whisk in 1 c powdered sugar and immediately top cooled scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I've been trying to find a great scone recipe because DH loves them. Decided to try this one and I am so glad I did. So is he! Made as written except for throwing in a small amount of chopped nuts, and I used the quick oats I already had on hand. I cut the recipe in half, so I made two 7-8 inch circles. The scones were smaller, and I only needed to cook for 13 mins. Not a lot of maple flavor, but the cherries definitely come through. I think cranberries or blueberries would work nicely too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Thought these tasted ever better the day after. Used Truvia for the tops to sweeten, and substituted 1 of the cups of flour for whole wheat. Also used Sugar-free syrup. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Fantastic! I got it on the first go and it really, really works!! Thanks for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Nice. The syrup flavor is great, even without the extract. I tried another reviewers trick and brushed on buttermilk instead of egg white. Worked great and saves an egg. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Awesome! The pregnant ladies in my bible study loved these! The only alterations I made were due to lack of ingredients on my end: regular syrup for maple syrup, almond extract for maple extract, cranberries & raisins for cherries... I also turned my heat down to 375 (like ya'll said) and put them in for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberness
Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States