Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This was very good. I did use flour mixed with water to thicken the soup instead of cornstarch as I find cornstarch tends to make liquid a little slimy. I used leftover ham from Easter rather than bacon but I'm sure the bacon would be good too--just wanted to use the ham up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Loved this! So good. Great flavors and definitely a hit with my husband and son. I don't think I'll add the cornstarch next time though. Wasn't needed at all. I did mix in the bacon and about a cup of cheese instead of serving it on top of each bowl. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Delicious recipe. Very good recipe as a base to change it to what you have around the kitchen (used flour instead of corn starch, used 2-1 cup pouches of potato flakes, used whole milk, added Queso Velveeta cheese to mine to melt, stirred the bacon into it, added a can of corn, and cooked it with bay leaves for flavor). I'm sure it would have been great as is also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a good recipe and gives the baked potato feel. My children loved it. Changes: no cornstarch and half the potato flakes and 3 potatoes next time I make it. It came out really thick and I ended up adding 2 cups of half-half to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Waller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is it! Baked Potato Soup perfection. It was a little too thick for me, so I did add some extra water and half and half. Next time, I will just use less cornstarch. You have got to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a really good and easy soup, but as written, the consistency is way too thick. I even cut the corn starch in half and it was still too thick. I would suggest starting with 1/8 c. cornstarch and 1/2 c. of potato flakes. You can add more flakes slowly as the mixture thickens until you get to a consistency you like. I would have much preferred a more "cream soup-y" consistency and what I got was very "mashed potato-y". I was concerned about the 1/2 tsp. basil, but it ended up being a very mellow flavor and not overpowering. I think nest time I might add just a tiny bit of bacon grease with the butter when sautéing the onions to give it a little more bacon flavor. Otherwise, really great. I really like doing the baked potatoes in advance and cutting the chunks up in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was wonderful! I used 3 potatoes, sour cream and onion mashed potato flakes and only half the cornstarch. I also added corn just because we love it in potato soup. Will keep in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyguenivere

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emilypronto
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I did not care for the boxed potatoes. It has too much thyme, which was very overpowering until I added the bacon to the simmering process along with a lot of salt and pepper. The end result was more of a mashed potato consistency than soup. Thankfully the bread bowl I put it in saved the soup, but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The flavor of the instant potatoes overpowered the true flavor of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States