Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Emilypronto
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I did not care for the boxed potatoes. It has too much thyme, which was very overpowering until I added the bacon to the simmering process along with a lot of salt and pepper. The end result was more of a mashed potato consistency than soup. Thankfully the bread bowl I put it in saved the soup, but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The flavor of the instant potatoes overpowered the true flavor of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was sooooo good! I made it for some guests on a cold wintry night and they raved on and on about how good it was! I would've given it 5 stars, but I made some alterations based on what others had said about the recipe. I baked four large potatoes in the microwave instead of the oven, diced 3 (so added one extra) and made one into a small batch of "mashed potatoes," which I then substituted for the potato flakes.It was obviously hard to mix in evenly, but after a few minutes it worked well. I also saved the bacon grease and used it to start my roux. I put bacon in the soup and also saved some for a topping. I almost put cheese in the soup as well, but I decided to wait and just put it on top, which worked out well. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmheff
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've been making this recipe for a few years now. I am surprised it's not even more popular. Whenever I make it people rave over it and often ask for the recipe. I disagree with the suggestion to add milk. Add the half and half, it's much creamier with it and the taste is far superior. I use fat free half and half to save calories and that works fine. The herbs also give the soup it's great flavor. To make it low fat you can play around with the ingredients. I will omit the flour and only use the potato flakes as thickening. Cornstarch can be omitted too. This works great as long as you don't skip the half and half. It's just too thin and watery if the thickening agents are omitted without using the half and half. Also try different flavors of potato flakes and skip the cheese for variety. Thanks for a great soup recipe everyone in my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
After looking through many baked potato soup recipes on Pinterest, I decided on this one. I read many reviews on this site as well and have always found them to be very helpful. Made some adjustments as well, I did not have the potato flakes so I admitted them as well as cornstarch and just used another potato, used half and half and skim milk. My family loved it! The consistency was perfect for us, as I think the potato flakes and cornstarch would have made it too thick for our taste. The flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Just made this with a few minor changes and it came out SO good. Thanks, it is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe is pretty darn tasty and really easy! I took some ideas from other users that I think helped improve it...I really don't like instant mashed potatoes...they have a funny taste to me, so I did some things to mask them in the soup, but they are essential for texture and body in the soup. For starters, I used cheddar/garlic flavored potatoes and then, since I didn't have any half and half and to add "tang" to the soup, I added about 1/2 cup of low-fat sour cream along with a cup of milk. I also added 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and served the soup with more sour cream and cheddar cheese on top. Also, I kept the potato skins on to add more color/texture to the soup and used four small russet potatoes rather than 2. I think next time I might even use red potatoes (using 6 because they're smaller) and leave skins on to make the soup prettier and compliment the bacon. It's also much faster to "bake" your potatoes in the microwave...simply pierce them and put them on a microwave safe plate...microwave them about 6 minutes on each side until both sides tender. Voila! Overall, a good weeknight meal for cold evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I'm giving this recipe as written 4 stars because I just can't imagine using potato flakes - yuck! However, with my mods it was really good. I used about 7 smallish potatoes, used the immersion blender to smooth about 5 of them, and then added the remaining potatoes in chunks to give it a little more texture. Also, used heavy cream instead of half & half, no water - skim milk instead, and fresh basil instead of dried. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe, and my boyfriend RAVED about it. I did have to put a little extra half & half in so that it wasn't TOO thick, so I'd advise having enough on hand to add as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States