Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I am a professional chef who works as a Child Nutritionist with the Homewood City Shcool System in Birmingham, Alabama, and am always looking for different things to go on a school lunch program. Usually when I have soup on the menu, we make 35 gallons of soup and have some left over. When I made this soup for our highschool lunch, it was gone before half of the 1000+ students we serve each day had eaten. When the others arrived, I keept hearing, "Where's that great soup we've heard about?" When I can make that many teenagers happy with a soup, it must be SOME SOUP. Thanks for all the help! Melissa Dupree CNP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I've tried several baked potato soup recipes, but this is the best. Its names holds true- it tastes very much like the soup you can get in a restaurant (even better than some restaurants if you ask me.) It was very thick, rich, and delicious! I changed the recipe a bit and was able to cut the fat SIGNIFICANTLY. I used 2 cans no-fat, low sodium chicken broth, skim milk instead of half and half, 1/3 cup store-bought bacon bits (added at the same time as the potato flakes so they're not crunchy), and 1 package (1 cup) 4-cheese instant mashed potato flakes. By using cheese mashed potato flakes you don't need to use the cheddar cheese. It still tastes very cheesey (in fact, I would not use more than one cup of the flakes) and you don't add any fat. I estimated that by making these alterations you cut the total fat by at least 70 grams. Even with the alterations, it was fantastic. For those of you with cornstarch issues, I found that it was easier to chill the water and mix the cornstarch in the water before adding both. No lumps, no pasty-ness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This soup would be so much better without the instant mashed potatoes. It turned out way too thick and the most dominant flavor is the taste of "fake" potatoes. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I wish I could give this 10 stars! We use 3 potatoes, garlic flavored flakes and 1/8C of cornstarch. We also add about a cup of shredded cheddar with the half & half. This is the best potato soup I've ever had, we make it at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
If you are browsing for an awesome potato soup recipe.. this is the one you want ! ! ! ! I made it last week for a pregnant friend.. she raved! I finished the whole batch off over the next two days for lunch.. it is divine. I bought "Real Bacon" bits for the topping.. I was too lazy to fry and chop bacon. I also topped it with sharp cheddar. You will definitely want to use one whole onion finely minced. It is killer to try to chop an onion and then saute it in butter until it is soft. I am not a big onion fan.. but the soup gets a terrific flavor from the onion. I used about half of the corn starch.. I didn't want a really thick soup, and it turn out great. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This receipe is wonderful. Very flavorful. I made 20 quarts for a party, and got rave reviews from all! I used 1/2 of the cornstarch and 2/3 of the potato flakes the recipe calls for. It still gets quite thick, especially if you make it ahead and reheat it. I also added chopped carrots for color. I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I really enjoyed this soup. I am going to make it for my recipe exchange club. It wasn't the consistancy I was expecting (thought it would be more mashed potato like) but it was wonderful. I took the advice of other reviews and used 2% milk instead of half and half. Next time I will split it. I think it could have been a little richer. WONDERFUL FLAVOR, was not bland at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This is a truly AWESOME homemade soup. It tastes just like the one we get at our favorite restaurant. I cut the onions to 1 cup, and added one more potatoe. But other than that, the recipe was perfect for us. Thanks Holly. This is a keeper for these rainy Pacific Northwest days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This is an awesome recipe. I had searched for years for a great potato soup recipe and this is it. I did take others' advice and cut the corn starch in half and I also used fat free half & half, broth (instead of stock) and cut the potato flakes a bit. It is a very thick, rich and hearty soup. Brought some into work and they loved it. Reheats nicely (even thicker the next day). Great for fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This soup is perfect for a cold winter day. Hearty enough to be a meal in itself. Had so many compliments on the taste that it's sure to become a favorite. (reheats well and is even better the next day!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States