Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was a little leery of the instant mashed potatoes when I made this soup. It was for good reason, they did not enhance this soup in the slightest. It's so easy to use leftover mashed potatoes (really, what else will you do with them?) or to add extra potatoes and mashed them up in the pot, it's really not worth the time you may save using fake potatoes. I think it's an okay soup when made with real potatoes, though even canned soup is good with bacon, green onions and shredded cheese on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Tasty! I used 4 potatoes and didn't bother cooking them in the oven. I just peeled & diced them and put them in the pot with the cream just after boiling the chicken broth/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Made with a couple changes. Used olive oil to saute the onions. Swapped the half and half for skim milk. Only used cheese for a garnish. Came out creamy and delicious. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Good but not sure I'd call it "restaurant quality". The final three ingredients used for garnish were a really nice touch! However I'll probably will continue my search for the perfect baked potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I had to come back and edit my review: To me this is NOT restaurant quality (I'd send it back!). Correctly made potato soup does not need all the thickener and maybe only 1/4 cup of instant in the event your potato soup is a bit runny. Instant potatoes don't appeal to me personally so I don't know what I was thinking even attempting this. I don't care if it's flavored or not, they still have a chemical aftertaste. If your used to that, heck, then go for it. I won't revisit this recipe when real potatoes are cheap & available. Well, do what works for your tastes, right? :) Nice concept but can't recommend this one. The Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup recipe posted on A/R is so much better (with only minor tweaking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Really, really good! I needed to make it lower in fat so here is what I did-I used 8 ounces lower sodium bacon and coarsely diced it before crisply frying it. I only used one cup potato flakes, used skim milk instead of half and half, and used low sodium, fat-free chicken broth. I put the bacon right into the soup before the second simmer rather than just using as a garnish, and I skipped the cheese entirely. Oh, and I mixed the cornstarch in with the water before putting it into the soup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent! I didn't have any chicken stock, so I used water and chicken base. I also skipped the thyme. I put the soup base in the crock pot after I had it all together, and added raw, peeled, chopped potatoes to the crock pot. I cooked on high for about 4 hours. Served with bacon bits, cheese and chives on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Flavor is excellent. I could only give 4 stars because it has 2800 mg sodium per serving! That's more than an adult should have for their daily total of sodium. Some great substitutions to make this more healthy: homemade sodium-free broth, fat free half'n'half, decrease bacon by 50% and use 2% cheese. BONUS: There's enough protein in one serving of soup that the meal would be nutritionally complete with the addition of a tossed salad and some fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I have had this recipe for several years. To me, it has been known as "Tony Roma's Baked Potato Soup". We have this all the time, and I really like that it is easy, especially if you bake your potatoes ahead of time. I also use flavored potato flakes (like Betty Crocker) to add more flavor. This time I used Cheddar Garlic. I have also used milk instead of the cream to cut out some fat, and we still enjoy it. The soup can also be made ahead and kept warm in the slow cooker. Overall, we really like this one and will continue to have it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
If you like the KFC mashed potato bowls, then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States