Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great soup! Go a step further and add a brick of cream cheese instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was easy and tastes fabulous! Even the hubbie, who's VERY picky about his baked potato soup, scarfed this down and asked for more! I did use 3 potatoes and I threw in about 3/4 cup sharp cheddar I needed to use up. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A little peppery but when you add the cheese it mellows it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I know the fat content in bacon grease is unsuitable, but the flaver is spectacular. Chop and fry bacon reserving the grease to saute onion . I have never needed to use cornstarch or instant flakes as the starch from the potatoes thickens the recipe. A pinch of cayene into the soup picks up all the flavors. Try it and let me know if you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful soup for a cold wintery day. The addition of the instant potatoes is an excellent thickener. My local (Kroger) grocery store sells a great soup that reminds me of this, but this is cheaper to make and I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delish! Followed almost to a "t"...I didn't have regular instant flakes, so I used Betty Crocker loaded potato flakes (just one of the 2 packs in a box).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was very good. I followed the recipe except that I used fat-free half & half and omitted the cornstarch (not necessary.) I don't like instant mashed potatoes at all but I didn't taste any "fake" flavor in the soup. I keep the potato flakes on hand to use in baking bread. Fat can also be reduced by substituting parmesan cheese for the cheddar, or just omitting the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
You have to try this soup, it is the best I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was a little leery of the instant mashed potatoes when I made this soup. It was for good reason, they did not enhance this soup in the slightest. It's so easy to use leftover mashed potatoes (really, what else will you do with them?) or to add extra potatoes and mashed them up in the pot, it's really not worth the time you may save using fake potatoes. I think it's an okay soup when made with real potatoes, though even canned soup is good with bacon, green onions and shredded cheese on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Tasty! I used 4 potatoes and didn't bother cooking them in the oven. I just peeled & diced them and put them in the pot with the cream just after boiling the chicken broth/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States