Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I know the fat content in bacon grease is unsuitable, but the flaver is spectacular. Chop and fry bacon reserving the grease to saute onion . I have never needed to use cornstarch or instant flakes as the starch from the potatoes thickens the recipe. A pinch of cayene into the soup picks up all the flavors. Try it and let me know if you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful soup for a cold wintery day. The addition of the instant potatoes is an excellent thickener. My local (Kroger) grocery store sells a great soup that reminds me of this, but this is cheaper to make and I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delish! Followed almost to a "t"...I didn't have regular instant flakes, so I used Betty Crocker loaded potato flakes (just one of the 2 packs in a box).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was very good. I followed the recipe except that I used fat-free half & half and omitted the cornstarch (not necessary.) I don't like instant mashed potatoes at all but I didn't taste any "fake" flavor in the soup. I keep the potato flakes on hand to use in baking bread. Fat can also be reduced by substituting parmesan cheese for the cheddar, or just omitting the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
You have to try this soup, it is the best I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was a little leery of the instant mashed potatoes when I made this soup. It was for good reason, they did not enhance this soup in the slightest. It's so easy to use leftover mashed potatoes (really, what else will you do with them?) or to add extra potatoes and mashed them up in the pot, it's really not worth the time you may save using fake potatoes. I think it's an okay soup when made with real potatoes, though even canned soup is good with bacon, green onions and shredded cheese on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Tasty! I used 4 potatoes and didn't bother cooking them in the oven. I just peeled & diced them and put them in the pot with the cream just after boiling the chicken broth/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Made with a couple changes. Used olive oil to saute the onions. Swapped the half and half for skim milk. Only used cheese for a garnish. Came out creamy and delicious. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Good but not sure I'd call it "restaurant quality". The final three ingredients used for garnish were a really nice touch! However I'll probably will continue my search for the perfect baked potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I had to come back and edit my review: To me this is NOT restaurant quality (I'd send it back!). Correctly made potato soup does not need all the thickener and maybe only 1/4 cup of instant in the event your potato soup is a bit runny. Instant potatoes don't appeal to me personally so I don't know what I was thinking even attempting this. I don't care if it's flavored or not, they still have a chemical aftertaste. If your used to that, heck, then go for it. I won't revisit this recipe when real potatoes are cheap & available. Well, do what works for your tastes, right? :) Nice concept but can't recommend this one. The Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup recipe posted on A/R is so much better (with only minor tweaking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States