Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This soup was the best I've ever had! Have made it twice now, following the recipe exactly as written and have been asked for the recipe both times! Awesome! Thank you Marbalet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
With potatoes, potato flakes, cornstarch AND flour, any one of which is by itself a thickener, this quadruple dose produces a "soup" with the texture of school paste. All the great reviews convince me that many people like this texture, but if if your taste doesn't run that way, stay clear of this recipe. There was so much thickener that even after adding another 2 cups of chicken broth, it was still glue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Excellent. I made the recipe as written and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Guntersville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
*New Review* The problem last time was the type of potato flakes I used. After making again I have changed the review to 4 stars. Still a little salty for me but very tasty. *Old Review* Way too salty and tasted like bacon (before I even added the real bacon). I used "loaded" potato flakes which might have caused this. I would like to try this again with plain flakes as the texture and thickness was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My Fiance' dislikes soup for some reason unbeknown st to me. Where as I enjoy homemade soup of any kind especially in the winter. I came across this recipe and decided I would try it out on him. We, yes we loved it! The texture was perfect and the flavor awesome. This is the best potato soup recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitinsville, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My boyfriend and I LOVE this soup!! I used cheddar flavored potato flakes and as other reviewers suggested, I cut down on the flakes and cornstarch. At first I was worried that it would have a "fake" potato taste due to the flakes, but this was not an issue at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Yummy! It was very creamy-licious! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have to agree with a previous reviewer. I made this soup exactly as the recipe indicated, and it does, indeed, taste very strongly of instant mashed potatoes. Expecting restaurant-quality soup from potato flakes is just setting yourself up for disappointment. However, it definitely had potential, so I made it again using leftover homemade mashed potatoes instead of the flakes (adjusting the liquid accordingly) and it was divine. Try it this way and you'll be in potato-soup *heaven.* (I bet you could use a tub of pre-made real mashed potatoes from the refrigerated section in the grocery store, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I couldn't beleive what a difference the potato flakes made in the soup! I picked up the loaded baked potato flavored and pretty much followed the recipe remaining recipe, much like the potato soup I have been making for years. Not a drop was left, everyone had two bowls each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Made this today and it was absolutely delicious!! I accidentally bought heavy cream instead of half and half, but that didn't matter since I like my cream soups very THICK. My Mom loved it as well and she's picky about soups. Will definitely make this again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tulipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States