Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My boyfriend and I LOVE this soup!! I used cheddar flavored potato flakes and as other reviewers suggested, I cut down on the flakes and cornstarch. At first I was worried that it would have a "fake" potato taste due to the flakes, but this was not an issue at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Yummy! It was very creamy-licious! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have to agree with a previous reviewer. I made this soup exactly as the recipe indicated, and it does, indeed, taste very strongly of instant mashed potatoes. Expecting restaurant-quality soup from potato flakes is just setting yourself up for disappointment. However, it definitely had potential, so I made it again using leftover homemade mashed potatoes instead of the flakes (adjusting the liquid accordingly) and it was divine. Try it this way and you'll be in potato-soup *heaven.* (I bet you could use a tub of pre-made real mashed potatoes from the refrigerated section in the grocery store, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I couldn't beleive what a difference the potato flakes made in the soup! I picked up the loaded baked potato flavored and pretty much followed the recipe remaining recipe, much like the potato soup I have been making for years. Not a drop was left, everyone had two bowls each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Made this today and it was absolutely delicious!! I accidentally bought heavy cream instead of half and half, but that didn't matter since I like my cream soups very THICK. My Mom loved it as well and she's picky about soups. Will definitely make this again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tulipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Didn't find this tasted anything like a baked potato - will stick to our usual recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
this was delicious! we were very pleased & it was very filling! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did not like this at all. All I could taste was the fake potatoes. The texture was kind of gross as well. It was like runny mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was delicious and full of flavor. I shortened my cooking time by peeling and cutting up the potatoes before boiling. I would probably use less half and half or cornstarch next time because mine was a bit too thick, but otherwise this recipe lived up to it's name. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
OMG...What can I say? This soup is awesome!!! I even substituted the half-and-half with Simply Smart 1% milk and it came out great!. I like things a bit spicy so I increased the pepper amount and added hot sauce. To give it even more flavor, I used garlic instant potatoes instead of regular instant. This was so comforting with the cold temperatures on the east coast this winter. Thanks so much Marbalet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States