Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just made the soup with some changes which will make the "it's too thick" or "potato flakes?!" crowd happy (See other comments). I sauted the onions and a package of Hormel real bacon bits together. Added flour. Added chicken broth. Now I diced up 5 potatoes and let them cook in the broth. I mashed them into soup when after they cooked. Because I used so many potatoes, I cut the flakes down to 3/4's or so cup. Did not add cornstarch or salt. Added tablespoon minced garlic. Used a mexican blend of cheese and doubled. OH my my. Made it an hour ago and it is almost gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Used the cheesy potato flakes as previously suggested - all else the same as written and was excellent. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLCHANSLER
Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Made the recipe as is and loved every bite of it. Husband and son gobbled it up as well. Will definitely make again and this time I won't forget to use the bacon bits that I bought to serve with the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Incredible!! I did double it and found it to be a bit bland so I added the cheese in and let in melt. I also added teh bacon right into the soup. I also added a tiny bit more basil and thyme at the end to taste. Overall, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Ive made this recipe twice and both times have been great. Delicious. I cant wait to compare it to a restaurant recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
this is beyond the best soup i have ever tasted its better than black anguses....and that is saying something..i added some celery and sauted it with the onion gives a nice flavor...also this would be a good base for clam chowder...or you could add corn, green beans anything just about...i added the bacon and cheese to the whole pot that is how my family likes it...it is some time to make but well worth it...you wont regret making it but if you are planning on serving a crowd ya better make more than one batch it dont go very far cause of how thick it is...enjoy i will make this recipe for the rest of my life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
DID NOT CARE FOR THIS RECIPE. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This soup was fabulous! We loved it and will be making it often! I did almost double the amount of chicken broth because it was almost too thick. But really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States