Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I don't know how I feel about this one. I thought I would love it, but it really was only so-so for me. I liked the flavor that the baked tator brought to the party. And I did change the cream to sour cream, because I don't have cream but also it just seemed like a baked tator should have some sour cream. But it wasnt the flavors. It was something else. Maybe too many tator flakes? Or maybe not enough tators? I did a triple batch but I should have added more tators. I don't know. I like my own tator soup. I don't meaure anything but the key is this Chip-n-Dip from our local dairy. It is awesome! Sometimes I add cheese to the soup too. And sometimes some bacon or ham if I have it. But really the kicker is the chip-n-dip. Maybe for supper this other soup will taste better since it has had all day to hang out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this as my first attempt at soup, I had never made a roux in my life! It turned out AMAZING, my husband and 2 toddler sons devoured it with cheese and bacon biscuits and have been begging me to make it again! I changed a few things a bit: I sauted some minced garlic with the onion; instead of fully baking the potatoes I microwaved them for about 5 minutes; I used leftover prepared mashed potatoes instead of just flakes; and I used Italian seasoning and steak seasoning instead of salt, pepper and the spices called for. Another recipe on this site: pull-apart bacon bread, it compliments this soup so well, I crumble the bread into my soup bowl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
You could tell the taste of instant smashed tomatoes in there, personally i wouldn't be happy if that was served to me in a restaurant. However, it had an overall nice texture, wasn't bland, bacon and onion complements the soup perfectly. i used normal milk (i had to add more milk to get it smoother because it got very thick) and i would recommend less cornstarch and less smashed potatoe flakes too. next time i'm gonna try this with real smashed potatoes! an overall not bad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I liked the consistency of this soup very much but it was way to much onion for us. If I ever make this again I'll only use about half as much onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
A hit with me and the hubby! I will add extra real potatoes next time. I used skim milk instead of half-and-half. I used 3 cups chicken stock and 3 cups water. Used less onions, because I only had a cup. This will definitely go in the personal favorites cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Had some ingredients that I wanted to use up and this recipe fit the Bill ... Very Good! I used Butter & left the Skin on the Potatoes! Husband Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is excellent !! I can never make a big enough batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdavid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Use the "fresh" diced hash brown potatoes w/onion available now to make this even quicker! Just add the pkg of potatoes along with the broth/water and simmer a few minutes before you add the potato flakes and 1/2 and 1/2. (I still used the whole onion, sauteed as called for). 1 package (4 oz.) of "Loaded Baked" potato flakes was plenty to thicken it -- didn't need the cornstarch at all. Added cheese to the soup AND added some on top for garnish. Used FF half and half to cut some calories. A great super-fast shortcut to homemade potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by broeliz@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States