Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
My families favorite!!! I like that its easy and I usually have all ingredients on hand. The only change I made was I baked my potatoes in the microwave just because its quicker and then set them in the fridge to cool. I have fixed it with and without the skin on the potatoes. I like it with the skin on. I don't usually keep cream around and rarely use it so I use whole milk instead. Works great!! This is a keeper. I will pass it on to my daughter when she's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon22465

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I have made it for years. It is GREAT. I microwave the potatoes, use 1 c. onion, & use a little less potato flakes. I also use real bacon bits in a jar (easier) & omit the green onions as a garnish. This recipe is easier than it may seem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
My family adored this recipe! As do I. Amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and even my teen loved it. I did have to double the margarine and I thought the pepper was a little strong, I would cut that back a little next time. I only used a little over a cup of onions. Also put the green onions, bacon and cheese into the soup along with using it as a garnish. They add a lot of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious! My husband asked if I made it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphney Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
It was a little thick. I added more chicken broth and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I don't know how I feel about this one. I thought I would love it, but it really was only so-so for me. I liked the flavor that the baked tator brought to the party. And I did change the cream to sour cream, because I don't have cream but also it just seemed like a baked tator should have some sour cream. But it wasnt the flavors. It was something else. Maybe too many tator flakes? Or maybe not enough tators? I did a triple batch but I should have added more tators. I don't know. I like my own tator soup. I don't meaure anything but the key is this Chip-n-Dip from our local dairy. It is awesome! Sometimes I add cheese to the soup too. And sometimes some bacon or ham if I have it. But really the kicker is the chip-n-dip. Maybe for supper this other soup will taste better since it has had all day to hang out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this as my first attempt at soup, I had never made a roux in my life! It turned out AMAZING, my husband and 2 toddler sons devoured it with cheese and bacon biscuits and have been begging me to make it again! I changed a few things a bit: I sauted some minced garlic with the onion; instead of fully baking the potatoes I microwaved them for about 5 minutes; I used leftover prepared mashed potatoes instead of just flakes; and I used Italian seasoning and steak seasoning instead of salt, pepper and the spices called for. Another recipe on this site: pull-apart bacon bread, it compliments this soup so well, I crumble the bread into my soup bowl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States