Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and even my teen loved it. I did have to double the margarine and I thought the pepper was a little strong, I would cut that back a little next time. I only used a little over a cup of onions. Also put the green onions, bacon and cheese into the soup along with using it as a garnish. They add a lot of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious! My husband asked if I made it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
It was a little thick. I added more chicken broth and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I don't know how I feel about this one. I thought I would love it, but it really was only so-so for me. I liked the flavor that the baked tator brought to the party. And I did change the cream to sour cream, because I don't have cream but also it just seemed like a baked tator should have some sour cream. But it wasnt the flavors. It was something else. Maybe too many tator flakes? Or maybe not enough tators? I did a triple batch but I should have added more tators. I don't know. I like my own tator soup. I don't meaure anything but the key is this Chip-n-Dip from our local dairy. It is awesome! Sometimes I add cheese to the soup too. And sometimes some bacon or ham if I have it. But really the kicker is the chip-n-dip. Maybe for supper this other soup will taste better since it has had all day to hang out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this as my first attempt at soup, I had never made a roux in my life! It turned out AMAZING, my husband and 2 toddler sons devoured it with cheese and bacon biscuits and have been begging me to make it again! I changed a few things a bit: I sauted some minced garlic with the onion; instead of fully baking the potatoes I microwaved them for about 5 minutes; I used leftover prepared mashed potatoes instead of just flakes; and I used Italian seasoning and steak seasoning instead of salt, pepper and the spices called for. Another recipe on this site: pull-apart bacon bread, it compliments this soup so well, I crumble the bread into my soup bowl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
You could tell the taste of instant smashed tomatoes in there, personally i wouldn't be happy if that was served to me in a restaurant. However, it had an overall nice texture, wasn't bland, bacon and onion complements the soup perfectly. i used normal milk (i had to add more milk to get it smoother because it got very thick) and i would recommend less cornstarch and less smashed potatoe flakes too. next time i'm gonna try this with real smashed potatoes! an overall not bad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I liked the consistency of this soup very much but it was way to much onion for us. If I ever make this again I'll only use about half as much onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
A hit with me and the hubby! I will add extra real potatoes next time. I used skim milk instead of half-and-half. I used 3 cups chicken stock and 3 cups water. Used less onions, because I only had a cup. This will definitely go in the personal favorites cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Had some ingredients that I wanted to use up and this recipe fit the Bill ... Very Good! I used Butter & left the Skin on the Potatoes! Husband Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States