Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a good recipe. My husband loved it. I personally did not like the texture/tast from the instant mashed and did not need the additional cornstarch. It reheated wonderfully the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good grief! I have been making this for nearly 4 years (based on the date at the bottom of the printed recipe) and somehow haven't rated it until now. We've been absolutely loving it, but I do double the amount of potatoes used (for a chunkier soup) and microwave them when I haven't planned sufficiently ahead. Sometimes I'll use potato flakes as stated, but if there are leftover mashed potatoes on hand, then those will be subbed. I also saute a clove of garlic with the chopped onion. Thankfully it's a very forgiving recipe. I've had to increase the number of servings that I make in hopes of having a bowlful leftover for lunch the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very good, and excellent way to use up instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing I did different was use milk instead of half-and-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very very good. I used an envelope of four cheese mashed potatoes instead of plain potato flakes to add to the flavor. I also stirred the bacon into the soup, and used sharp cheddar and chopped green onions for the garnish. I kept the skins on the potatoes because I like the skins. The consistency was perfect, and the taste was wonderful. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Placid, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I didn't have a whole lot of time this morning to wait for potatoes to bake, so I roasted them. I used the Roast Potatoes recipe, which is also from this site. I had a couple extra potatoes so I just cubed them and threw them in, too, just to use them up. Plus, it made the soup a little "chunkier". I omitted the cornstarch only because I thought the flour and potato flakes would be enough thickener on it's own. I used Cracker Barrel 2% extra white cheddar. I did stir the original bacon and cheddar in, I just set bowls of extra on the table for garnish. We all liked this. I actually was able to make this in my crockpot without issues. Plenty of leftovers, which is always nice. I served this with Cottage Dill Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is one of our family's favorite soups. It is a great hearty soup with rich flavor and smooth creamy texture. I use extra potatoes since we like it "chunkier". I do omit the cornstarch though. I don't see the need for it - especially if using potato flakes to thicken. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
hmm... when i read all the rave reviews i was SO excited. baked potato soup is my favorite, i always get it at my favorite restaurant. but this to me tasted more like instant potatoes than anything else, and i felt the chicken broth really over powered the flavor. i think next time, i will go with a recipe which uses real potatoes as the base. the texture was strange, runny/glue like. i would try another recipe if you're looking for a real restaurant style baked potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millie201188

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very, very good. I am gluten intolerant so I left out the flour to make it a gluten free recipe - and still was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
the flavors are very good mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States