Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a good recipe. My husband loved it. I personally did not like the texture/tast from the instant mashed and did not need the additional cornstarch. It reheated wonderfully the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good grief! I have been making this for nearly 4 years (based on the date at the bottom of the printed recipe) and somehow haven't rated it until now. We've been absolutely loving it, but I do double the amount of potatoes used (for a chunkier soup) and microwave them when I haven't planned sufficiently ahead. Sometimes I'll use potato flakes as stated, but if there are leftover mashed potatoes on hand, then those will be subbed. I also saute a clove of garlic with the chopped onion. Thankfully it's a very forgiving recipe. I've had to increase the number of servings that I make in hopes of having a bowlful leftover for lunch the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very good, and excellent way to use up instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing I did different was use milk instead of half-and-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very very good. I used an envelope of four cheese mashed potatoes instead of plain potato flakes to add to the flavor. I also stirred the bacon into the soup, and used sharp cheddar and chopped green onions for the garnish. I kept the skins on the potatoes because I like the skins. The consistency was perfect, and the taste was wonderful. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Placid, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I didn't have a whole lot of time this morning to wait for potatoes to bake, so I roasted them. I used the Roast Potatoes recipe, which is also from this site. I had a couple extra potatoes so I just cubed them and threw them in, too, just to use them up. Plus, it made the soup a little "chunkier". I omitted the cornstarch only because I thought the flour and potato flakes would be enough thickener on it's own. I used Cracker Barrel 2% extra white cheddar. I did stir the original bacon and cheddar in, I just set bowls of extra on the table for garnish. We all liked this. I actually was able to make this in my crockpot without issues. Plenty of leftovers, which is always nice. I served this with Cottage Dill Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is one of our family's favorite soups. It is a great hearty soup with rich flavor and smooth creamy texture. I use extra potatoes since we like it "chunkier". I do omit the cornstarch though. I don't see the need for it - especially if using potato flakes to thicken. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
hmm... when i read all the rave reviews i was SO excited. baked potato soup is my favorite, i always get it at my favorite restaurant. but this to me tasted more like instant potatoes than anything else, and i felt the chicken broth really over powered the flavor. i think next time, i will go with a recipe which uses real potatoes as the base. the texture was strange, runny/glue like. i would try another recipe if you're looking for a real restaurant style baked potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millie201188

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very, very good. I am gluten intolerant so I left out the flour to make it a gluten free recipe - and still was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
the flavors are very good mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States