Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
AMAZING!!! My husband and kids LOVED it!! The only small changes I made were that I used butter instead of margarine, because that's what I had on hand and I doubled the amount of bacon it called for. I stirred half of it in when I added the half & half and used the rest on top as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I tried this tonight and it is a really awesome soup! The only thing I had to change was adding bacon to the soup as well as some cheddar cheese. Kudos! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I love this soup. We have made it twice and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a good recipe. My husband loved it. I personally did not like the texture/tast from the instant mashed and did not need the additional cornstarch. It reheated wonderfully the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good grief! I have been making this for nearly 4 years (based on the date at the bottom of the printed recipe) and somehow haven't rated it until now. We've been absolutely loving it, but I do double the amount of potatoes used (for a chunkier soup) and microwave them when I haven't planned sufficiently ahead. Sometimes I'll use potato flakes as stated, but if there are leftover mashed potatoes on hand, then those will be subbed. I also saute a clove of garlic with the chopped onion. Thankfully it's a very forgiving recipe. I've had to increase the number of servings that I make in hopes of having a bowlful leftover for lunch the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very good, and excellent way to use up instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing I did different was use milk instead of half-and-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very very good. I used an envelope of four cheese mashed potatoes instead of plain potato flakes to add to the flavor. I also stirred the bacon into the soup, and used sharp cheddar and chopped green onions for the garnish. I kept the skins on the potatoes because I like the skins. The consistency was perfect, and the taste was wonderful. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Placid, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I didn't have a whole lot of time this morning to wait for potatoes to bake, so I roasted them. I used the Roast Potatoes recipe, which is also from this site. I had a couple extra potatoes so I just cubed them and threw them in, too, just to use them up. Plus, it made the soup a little "chunkier". I omitted the cornstarch only because I thought the flour and potato flakes would be enough thickener on it's own. I used Cracker Barrel 2% extra white cheddar. I did stir the original bacon and cheddar in, I just set bowls of extra on the table for garnish. We all liked this. I actually was able to make this in my crockpot without issues. Plenty of leftovers, which is always nice. I served this with Cottage Dill Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is one of our family's favorite soups. It is a great hearty soup with rich flavor and smooth creamy texture. I use extra potatoes since we like it "chunkier". I do omit the cornstarch though. I don't see the need for it - especially if using potato flakes to thicken. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States