Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Made with a couple changes. Used olive oil to saute the onions. Swapped the half and half for skim milk. Only used cheese for a garnish. Came out creamy and delicious. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Good but not sure I'd call it "restaurant quality". The final three ingredients used for garnish were a really nice touch! However I'll probably will continue my search for the perfect baked potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I had to come back and edit my review: To me this is NOT restaurant quality (I'd send it back!). Correctly made potato soup does not need all the thickener and maybe only 1/4 cup of instant in the event your potato soup is a bit runny. Instant potatoes don't appeal to me personally so I don't know what I was thinking even attempting this. I don't care if it's flavored or not, they still have a chemical aftertaste. If your used to that, heck, then go for it. I won't revisit this recipe when real potatoes are cheap & available. Well, do what works for your tastes, right? :) Nice concept but can't recommend this one. The Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup recipe posted on A/R is so much better (with only minor tweaking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Really, really good! I needed to make it lower in fat so here is what I did-I used 8 ounces lower sodium bacon and coarsely diced it before crisply frying it. I only used one cup potato flakes, used skim milk instead of half and half, and used low sodium, fat-free chicken broth. I put the bacon right into the soup before the second simmer rather than just using as a garnish, and I skipped the cheese entirely. Oh, and I mixed the cornstarch in with the water before putting it into the soup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent! I didn't have any chicken stock, so I used water and chicken base. I also skipped the thyme. I put the soup base in the crock pot after I had it all together, and added raw, peeled, chopped potatoes to the crock pot. I cooked on high for about 4 hours. Served with bacon bits, cheese and chives on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Flavor is excellent. I could only give 4 stars because it has 2800 mg sodium per serving! That's more than an adult should have for their daily total of sodium. Some great substitutions to make this more healthy: homemade sodium-free broth, fat free half'n'half, decrease bacon by 50% and use 2% cheese. BONUS: There's enough protein in one serving of soup that the meal would be nutritionally complete with the addition of a tossed salad and some fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I have had this recipe for several years. To me, it has been known as "Tony Roma's Baked Potato Soup". We have this all the time, and I really like that it is easy, especially if you bake your potatoes ahead of time. I also use flavored potato flakes (like Betty Crocker) to add more flavor. This time I used Cheddar Garlic. I have also used milk instead of the cream to cut out some fat, and we still enjoy it. The soup can also be made ahead and kept warm in the slow cooker. Overall, we really like this one and will continue to have it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
If you like the KFC mashed potato bowls, then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I would give this soup 3.5 stars. It was far too thick made as written (think mashed potato thick). I ended up having to add considerably more cream to thin it out. I also didn't care for the overwhelming flavor of the instant potato flakes. If I made this again I would try adding the cornstarch by itself first, letting it thicken, then add just enough potato flakes as needed to further thicken and flavor. The three toppings finish this recipe really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was really great but I changed it a bit. I didn't bake the potatoes until they were completely done, added a can of corn, added the bacon bits before serving and chunks of ham. Threw it all in the crock pot for a couple hours to finish cooking the potatoes and it really helped to blend the flavors together even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States