Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a good recipe and gives the baked potato feel. My children loved it. Changes: no cornstarch and half the potato flakes and 3 potatoes next time I make it. It came out really thick and I ended up adding 2 cups of half-half to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Waller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is it! Baked Potato Soup perfection. It was a little too thick for me, so I did add some extra water and half and half. Next time, I will just use less cornstarch. You have got to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a really good and easy soup, but as written, the consistency is way too thick. I even cut the corn starch in half and it was still too thick. I would suggest starting with 1/8 c. cornstarch and 1/2 c. of potato flakes. You can add more flakes slowly as the mixture thickens until you get to a consistency you like. I would have much preferred a more "cream soup-y" consistency and what I got was very "mashed potato-y". I was concerned about the 1/2 tsp. basil, but it ended up being a very mellow flavor and not overpowering. I think nest time I might add just a tiny bit of bacon grease with the butter when sautéing the onions to give it a little more bacon flavor. Otherwise, really great. I really like doing the baked potatoes in advance and cutting the chunks up in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was wonderful! I used 3 potatoes, sour cream and onion mashed potato flakes and only half the cornstarch. I also added corn just because we love it in potato soup. Will keep in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyguenivere

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emilypronto
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I did not care for the boxed potatoes. It has too much thyme, which was very overpowering until I added the bacon to the simmering process along with a lot of salt and pepper. The end result was more of a mashed potato consistency than soup. Thankfully the bread bowl I put it in saved the soup, but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The flavor of the instant potatoes overpowered the true flavor of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was sooooo good! I made it for some guests on a cold wintry night and they raved on and on about how good it was! I would've given it 5 stars, but I made some alterations based on what others had said about the recipe. I baked four large potatoes in the microwave instead of the oven, diced 3 (so added one extra) and made one into a small batch of "mashed potatoes," which I then substituted for the potato flakes.It was obviously hard to mix in evenly, but after a few minutes it worked well. I also saved the bacon grease and used it to start my roux. I put bacon in the soup and also saved some for a topping. I almost put cheese in the soup as well, but I decided to wait and just put it on top, which worked out well. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmheff
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've been making this recipe for a few years now. I am surprised it's not even more popular. Whenever I make it people rave over it and often ask for the recipe. I disagree with the suggestion to add milk. Add the half and half, it's much creamier with it and the taste is far superior. I use fat free half and half to save calories and that works fine. The herbs also give the soup it's great flavor. To make it low fat you can play around with the ingredients. I will omit the flour and only use the potato flakes as thickening. Cornstarch can be omitted too. This works great as long as you don't skip the half and half. It's just too thin and watery if the thickening agents are omitted without using the half and half. Also try different flavors of potato flakes and skip the cheese for variety. Thanks for a great soup recipe everyone in my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
After looking through many baked potato soup recipes on Pinterest, I decided on this one. I read many reviews on this site as well and have always found them to be very helpful. Made some adjustments as well, I did not have the potato flakes so I admitted them as well as cornstarch and just used another potato, used half and half and skim milk. My family loved it! The consistency was perfect for us, as I think the potato flakes and cornstarch would have made it too thick for our taste. The flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States