Renee's Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit!! I used Gala apples so they're a bit sweet, the rhubarb is tart and made for a perfect amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I have never made a pie before and this recipe turned out delicious. HERE ARE SOME TIPS FOR OTHER BEGINNERS LIKE MYSELF: 1. If you do not have cornstarch and look up online that 1 tablespoon cornstarch = 2 tablespoons flour like I did then it will come out a little deflated looking but the taste of it was still amazing! 2. I cut the rhubarb into smaller pieces than what was recommended because I was worried big chunks of rhubarb would be too much rhubarb at one time but I regret this decision. The rhubarb sucks up all the flavors of the pie and gives the pie a little more sustenance in each bite. 3.Homemade pie crust is worth the trouble of making!!! I bought a store bought pie crust and it came out a little undercooked when I used the cooking instructions from this recipe. 4. This is truly a beginner mistake but DONT CUT INTO THE PIE BEFORE IT SITS OUT FOR THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF TIME! It will look like liquid mush and will ruin the prettiness of your pie. HERE ARE A COUPLE GOOD TIPS I USED FROM OTHER REVIEWS: 1. I used 1 cup sugar instead of 1 and 1/4 cups sugar 2. I drained a little bit of the liquid from the filling mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Make it Hot
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I added one extra tablespoon of cornstarch as suggested by others. Perfect pie! I gave as a birthday gift to a dear friend who cut a slice right away. Perfect combination of tart and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was delicious! I have tried so many times to make a strawberry rhubarb pie that didnt run and sog the lower crust ....and failed until I tried this recipe. My family loved it and so did I. I love the subltlety of the vanilla and cinnamon. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe today (07/07/2014), and it is pure awesome. So juicy, and so good! Reminds me of my childhood, and my mom's strawberry rhubarb pies. Just one thing: if you're using store-bought pie shells, try a deep dish one, or just back off the recipe slightly to avoid overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I just made this pie last night. Although the flavor was good, it looked like strawberries and rhubarb laying in strawberry soup. There wasn't anything holding the fruit together. I guess many people like it that way but I prefer a more firmer pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I love rhubarb season! As soon as those stalks are long and thick enough, I'm baking me some strawberry rhubarb pie! I do have a favorite recipe I've used for nearly 40 years, but I always like to try something new. This is a fine recipe, but my old favorite still prevails. Never added vanilla to a fruit pie, and I found it unnecessary. As for the cinnamon, 3/4 tsp. was overkill to me. I want the fresh taste of rhubarb and strawberries, not a dominating taste of cinnamon. A quarter tsp. was better for me, but I still found that with this strawberry/rhubarb combination I prefer the 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg I typically use. More important than these small issues, you need to know this is a juicy pie. And even after sitting overnight, which tends to thicken it up, this was still a juicy pie. But I'm from the camp who believes that juicy is just what a good old-fashioned fruit pie SHOULD be. No gelatinous, intact wad of pie for me! You might prefer otherwise, but for me this was just the right balance between tart and sweet. As for the crust, I chose to use a pie crust I've used successfully for many years, "Basic Flaky Pie Crust," also from this site. Note: After many years of hauling rhubarb annually in my suitcase to Naples so as the folks we know here can enjoy it too (as I've done on this occasion as well), I can say with great confidence that these Floridians like their rhubarb (unusual for the locals and sadly missed by the former Northerners) too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Great flavor, I never would have thought to add cinnamon. This one is as good as my grandmothers! The consistency was great on mine, it gelled perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This pie is great....I made two two weeks apart and one was perfect consistency and the other was really runny... only difference was one cooled longer and one had fresher rhubarb than the other...either way it was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
went with 3 cups Rhubarb and 2 cups Strawberry, mostly to use up the Rhubarb I bought. Like others I added another Tbs Corn Starch, which also means some more water. The mixture sitting 30 minutes gets very juicy, so I used a slotted spoon to scoop into pie shell, then added 2 tbs of juice. Sweetness level was good. Flavor just slightly off good ones I have eaten in the past...maybe too much cinnamon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudsaki
Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States