Renaissance Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I made these Friday night to bring to my neighbor/friends candle party. I sorta snuck in with them & set them on the table & all night I kept hearing "who made these mushrooms, they're really good" and were asking for the recipe. I tasted a few before leaving (for dinner) and thought that they were pretty good, I didn't read the reviews before making them, but I agree with DREGINEK to skip the oil & mix the garlic in with the cream cheese mixture. While they were baking, they did get kinda "runny", but they were okay as they cooled. I got lucky & found 2.5 lbs. mushrooms with huge caps at Costco so I didn't have left over filling. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I should have submitted a picture. This is a great recipe and easy to make. I change it around a bit. Instead of sauteeing the mushroom cap, I sauteed the stem pieces, along with green onions and added fresh chopped basil and parsley. Let it cool and added it to the cheese mixture. I added several pads of herb butter to the baking dish right before putting it in the oven. I made it the night before my dinner party, stored in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Good mushrooms but as others have mentioned, either double the mushrooms or reduce the filling by half so that you don't have extra leftover. Also, instead of sauting the mushrooms in oil, garlic and green onions, I added the garlic and green onion (omitted the oil) into the cream cheese mix. These are nothing like I have ever had before and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I've made these mushrooms several times and they are always well-received. Personally, I like the more traditional "bready" filling so I usually add some fresh bread crumbs (1/2 C. - 1C.) from the food processor. Other than that I don't change a thing. There is not too much filling if you use stuffing mushrooms. This has become the appetizer that people request from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was a very good recipe once a couple of adjustments were made. Instead of 12 mushrooms I used 15, only 6 oz of cream cheese instead of 8 oz(otherwise you would have a lot of extra stuffing),and added 1/4 to 1/2 cup of seasoned bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This recipe was interesting to say the least. Not the best stuffed mushrooms I have ever had, but certainly quite good. This recipe probably does need breadcrumbs - something to give it a little more texture. As well, it could probably use more spiciness. Also, the recipe should really specify that you need very large mushrooms, or double the number of caps. I'm still searching for the best stuffed mushrooms, but this is certainly no slouch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
These were really good. I didn't read the reviews before making and ended up with a ton of leftover stuffing. But that was ok....I have never made stuffed mushrooms before, and will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
These mushrooms were sooo good, they went very fast. I could have filled antoher 6 mushrooms with the extra filling. Instead of wasting the extra filling I served it as dip with pretzles yum, yum.. I also added 2 more dashes of hot sauce for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This was one of the easiest and quick stuffed mushroom recipes that I have used. I served it at a party and everyone complimented the recipe! You know its good, when you run out early!! The only problem that I encountered was the measurements on the ingredients when I increased the number of mushrooms to be stuffed. I ended up with too much "stuffing" and not enough mushroom caps. Overall, this is a keeper and I will use it as one of the mainstays when entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Excellent! I even messed up part of the recipe and they were still great. (I cooked the chopped stems in the garlic and oil, rather than the caps.) All of my guests raved about them. I will definitely serve these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States