Renaissance Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Added a cup of seasoned bread crumbs and chopped green onions to the stuffing. Removed a little of the cream cheese as well. These came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Margaret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
The stuffed mushrooms were really good... my sister LOVED them. Even though I did like them, i felt that there was somethign missing. Something crunchy def would have added something. I'm still trying to figure out what would do it though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was really great - first time I've tried making stuffed mushrooms, and we'll definitely be having them again! I used Stones Ginger Wine instead of port, and filled 5 portabello caps to make a meal out of it. Found it just a little rich and a little salty (although I didn't add any salt) so will try a couple of tweaks next time. Needs something crunchy too - perhaps serve it with thick slices of toasted homemade bread, or add croutons, or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
My husband loved these. Would be yummy with sausage for non-vegetarians. Maybe sausage on the side?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
These mushrooms were okay. I will definately not use as much wine next time. I tasted wine more than any other ingredient. There was a lot of stuffing left over as well. Next time I make them I will either half the recipe or use larger portabello caps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I'm not a fan of bread crumb filling so this was right up my alley. Used the suggestion of adding walnuts and what a great addition it was. Didn't add the wine and glad I didn't because I think it would be a very dominating flavor whereas I prefer the taste of cheesy garlic. Not a lot of effort had to go into this which was great too, thanks for the keeper Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Can't tell you how many times I've made stuffed mushrooms, but this was truly the best tasting recipe I've ever come across. My cooking method was a little different in that I never saute my caps but I do and always saute the filling. Once the stems were cooked thru, I then added the rest of the ingredients. I used a whipped cream cheese which melted down nicely and instead of the port, I added Marsala wine. Garlic and onion powders were also added in. I made thirty of these and my company devoured them in no time. Thanks Chris; it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Nice touch to our valentines meal. Excellent. We cut the wine in half and used Merlot, used Mozzarella cheese and added 1 tbls of Italian bread crumbs. I PILED the filling on and thought it might melt out but it didn't. Paired this up with "Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze" from this site, and served it with the steak rather than as an appetizer. Totally awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My husband really liked these but I found them a bit rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Incredibly good! We made this into a meal by using 4 larger portobellos. And if you're not a vegetarian, try adding bacon bits, it's even better! Port wine gives the dish a really nice flavour so I wouldn't omit it. If you don't have any, you can use any cooked wine instead (Muscat or even red vermouth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States