Renaissance Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I made these according to the original recipe and then tried them 95% vegan with Dayia cheddar cheese and Tofutti "Better Than Cream Cheese" cream cheese (still used the parm), to cut down on the saturated fat and calories. I wasn't sure what that was going to do to the taste, but the mostly vegan version turned out even better in my opinion, and my family agreed. A couple comments and tips - use a food processer to chop the stems, otherwise it takes forever! Make sure you pick mushrooms with very large heads or you will have a lot of stuffing left over (or use the extra with a baked potato). Baked mushrooms were quite runny as others said. Also, I didn't add the hot sauce, and they still turned out great. If these are for a party, serve with fancy toothpicks, makes for an impressive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I did add some bread crumbs and chopped up the mushroom bits very fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I loved these! I hate to do this, because it drives me absolutely nuts when I read reviews like this, but I subed goat cheese for the cream cheese and added sun dried tomatoes, fresh basil and crushed red pepper. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I've made these lots of times now and they are always well-received! I skip precooking the mushroom caps and they turn out just fine. I've found that a suitable substitute if you don't like port is 1 tbsp of good balsamic or red wine vinegar to give it a similar tang (I prefer the port though!). These are great for year round entertaining--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I used tillamook white cheddar...it was magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eigiehm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We loved these! I served them a few nights ago as an appetizer to two other couples, "foodie" friends of ours that with whom we often travel to Europe. I utilized all the same ingredients. The only difference was in my prep, I sautéed the mushrooms because it reduces the liquid in them and the don't run all over the pan when their in the oven, removed the mushrooms and quickly sautéed the minced garlic then added the garlic and the raw green onions to my stuffing mix and proceeded from there as in the original recipe. They were a hit. I used stuffing caps so there really was no left over stuffing. Next time I'm going to omit the port wine, add a TBS "Wooster" (for seafood) Sauce and a 1/2 cup of lobster meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Best stuffed mushrooms I've made, but with a few tweaks. I skipped the garlic and just used a tablespoon of garlic powder in the mixture. Instead of green onions I used regular onions. I replaced the port wine with white zin. Lastly, I used about a tablespoon of Italian seasoned dried bread crumbs instead of just plain Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I get where she was going with the filling but like other users--I realized there were tweaks necessary to the recipe. First off when doing a totally binder free mushroom you need THE BIG CAPS. The ones usually found in Restaurant supply or Club stores. Skip the cheddar and go with another Italian cheese (mozz. or better Fontina).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warrenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I have make this recipe several times and they are always a hit. I find them farely easy to make. They are a nice addition to the meal as an appetizer or along with the entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States