Rempel Family Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
If you've been searching for a traditional meatloaf that wasn't bland, bland, bland, well baby, your ship has come in! This is the recipe I've waited 30 years to find. I didn't have the soup mix, so faked it with dried minced onions and some beef bouillon. Because I'm gluten free, I used corn flake crumbs for the crackers. Everything else as written. I made 2 mini-loaves on a foil-lined pan and baked it in my toaster oven at 350º for 45 minutes. So very, very tasty, especially with the beef gravy I made and Chef John's mashed potatoes. With fresh peas for green stuff, this was the ideal comfort meal for a cold spring evening. ***Update*** I made this again tonight WITH the soup mix and doubled the cheese, cutting it into cubes. Gooey, cheesy melty goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe! I made it and also sliced thin some onions and mushrooms to cook on top of it, along with bacon strips. Fantastic! The whole family enjoyed it. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I hate meatloaf and I liked this recipe. Made per other reviewers- bread on bottom to soak up grease. Heinz chili instead of ketchup and glasz for top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Wonderful meatloaf!! I followed the directions exactly and had a perfectly moist and tasty meatloaf on hand. I will note that I had to cook it for about an hour and 45 minutes in order for the internal temp to reach 165. Also, I put 2 slices of bread on the bottom of the pan to soak up the grease, and made a glaze of ketchup, brown sugar, and mustard to coat the top. I put half of the glaze on when it went into the oven and the rest halfway through. Overall, a VERY good meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Family loved it! My husband doesn't eat beef or pork, so we made it with ground turkey. Served it with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Perfect comfort winter food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Not being a fan of meatloaf, I rarely make the same meatloaf recipe twice. This one, however, will very definitely end my search for a good tasting meatloaf. My husband thought this was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this...and I don't get the amazing reviews. I could taste the onion soup mix way too much...it was almost overwhelming. It also smelled very onion-y..but not in a good way. I didn't care for the texture or taste that the crackers gave it. All in all, this is not something I'd ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was a perfect meatloaf. Not too dry, not over-seasoned. The whole family loved it and it made great leftovers. I only had 1 pound of lean ground beef so I had to substitute lamb for the rest of the meat but it still had a great flavor. I will use less cheese next time, I think. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Delicious!! I made it exactly as written but cooked it as a loaf in the centre of a 11x17 to allow room for the grease to drain away...came out PERFECT! My new go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Just tried this meatloaf last night. The flavor was good, but because I used ground turkey and lamb instead of beef I think it changed the flavor a bit. My husband liked it though, as did I.... might try a bit more crackers next time as it was quite moist when I put it in the pans... I doubled the recipe too because I like to be able to use it for leftovers during the week... and we cooked it a bit longer because it was so moist... came out good... we'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,017) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States