Rempel Family Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've made this meatloaf a few times and it is a definite 5 stars with the changes I made. Totally new recipe, I know, but it's sooo good this way I just had to share (-: I halved the onion soup (next time I'll just cut it down by a quarter), added a few extra squeezes of ketchup, liquid smoke (maybe 1 tbsp), worcestershire sauce (maybe 2 tbsp), cayenne pepper (1/2 tsp), and 1/4 c brown sugar. I subbed the plain crackers with cheddar goldfish crackers. The glaze mentioned in one of the first few reviews is a must, as is placing bread on the bottom of the pan to reduce grease. You could just dump it out a few times while cooking. I did that the first time I made it and it worked out fine. I wouldn't try it when I double the recipe, as I did this time. I didn't have time for the loaf to cook so I just threw it into the skillet and browned the out of it. Again, I did double the recipe and it took maybe 10 minutes for a third of the batch to cook. It turned out to be a delicious "loose meat" sandwich on country potato bread, topped with American cheese and a little mayo. The extra onion soup mix wasn't missed when this recipe is used as a sandwich filling, but I'll be sure to add that onion soup (minus a quarter) the next time I make it in loaf form. Think I'm in the mood for a snack lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Not a fan! I thought I would copy the recipe exactly but did use 1 pound ground beef & 1/2 pound of ground pork. The meatloaf was salty and was a little mushy. Won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My search for the perfect meatloaf has ended. It has the perfect flavors without being overpowering and it just melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Amazing, I hate people that write how they alter recipes...but, I added more cheese the second and third time I made it and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I make this "almost" as is, but will change things depending on the ingredients on hand...for example, it calls for 1.5 pounds of meat...I happened to have 1 lb. beef and 1 lb pork (2 lbs. total), so I mixed them...delicious. Another time I had saltines and used them in place of butter crackers. Delicious. It's a basic ratio recipe, and the family (including very picky kids) eat it and go back for seconds, and their friends eat it and approve. My daughter (16) said "why does everyone complain about meatloaf? It's delcious!" I think it's because many people put in onions, bell pepper, etc. and kids just don't like crunchy mystery chunks in their food. They will when they get older...but for now, this meal is good and much better than eating something from a fast food joint. Mine will eat green beans as a side to it. Anyway, I've made this several times, with slight variations to the amounts, etc...but it comes out great each time. There are lots of good meatloaf recipes, but this is simple and gets approval from everyone, so it is now my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is my go to meatloaf recipe. I use ground turkey instead of beef. I also omit the dry onion mix and add chopped green bell peppers and onions. I also mix a little honey and ketchup to make a glaze. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We have been using this recipe for years. My family gets excited when they hear I'm making meatloaf for dinner! Now that they're all older I make 2 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Everyone loved it! I put a glaze on with about 15 minutes left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wonderful! My previous attempts at meatloaf have not been successful. This is so good, I will definitely make again. I made the glaze the other rater suggested, ketchup, honey and worchestershire. For a little kick I added 1/2t of hotsauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Insanely delicious! I made these into mini-loaves and baked them in my Nuwave oven. My husband wasn't such a huge fan, but I don't care; I like them! Be mindful, though: they're very rich and heavy, so you'll want something else in your meal to balance it out. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,021) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States