Rempel Family Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE This Meat Loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Kansas, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe several times as my family says this is the best meatloaf I have ever baked. I recommend this to anybody looking for a delicious meatloaf with very simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Holy cow this is UHMAZING! So easy! No chopping, no fancy bread crumbs. Just love it! I made it exactly as listed. Went the full hour in a non stick loaf pan. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is the best meatloaf I've ever tried and tasted (I've tried about 10 different recipes over the years)! My family absolutely loves it! It is easy to put together, moist and delicious. The seasoning is perfect! The only change I make is adding a glaze of 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 T. steak sauce, 2 T. honey and 2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce to the top of the meatloaf before cooking. If I use anything less than 96% lean ground beef, I add about 1/4 cup extra crushed Ritz crackers. Then there is very little oil/fat at the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
DELICIOUS! AMAZING! I loved this recipe as well as my hubby. We both had 2.5 pieces it was that good! Only change made was I used our grocery store (Publix) Meatloaf Blend where instead of pure ground beef it has pork in it as well. Looking forward to making it again as it will be a new family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Loved it. Husband said it was a five star meat loaf - and he does not care for meat loaf. The second time I made it I topped it with a glaze (ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar and brown mustard) after 30 minutes of cooking. Awesome! For those who complain that it is too watery, you need to use LEAN ground beef. (90-95% lean). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I always read the tweaks from people to get their ideas as every family is different. When someone I lived with made meatloaf, it was alway wet / soggy on the bottom, tasteless and we didn't like it. Read suggestions to use bread on the bottom of the dish to soak up moisture during cooking which didn't work for some. I was out of bread but had bagles so I used 1 divided in half with the soft side down and it worked perfectly. Soaked up everything and the crust prevented sticking to the bottom of the meatloaf. Cheddar fish crackers because the kids like them rather than the butter crackers and 3/4 bbq sauce 1/4 ketchup again, to give the kids the flavors they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I had never made meatloaf before. I love my Mom's meatloaf, but it always gives me heartburn. I chose this recipe because it looked easy and I like all of the ingredients. I'm giving this recipe 4 stars as it is written. I've made it a few times now and have made a couple of minor changes that makes it perfect for us. I use BBQ sauce in the mixture instead of ketchup, I use ground round (just enough fat to keep it moist, but not so much to make it greasy), I'm generous with the cheese (I like to shred my own Vermont Sharp White Cheddar), and I top it with ketchup and bacon before throwing it in the oven. I also mix the eggs, onion soup mix, bbq sauce, and steak sauce together with a fork in a separate bowl to make sure they are well blended before hand mixing it all into the burger. I think it reconstitutes the dried onion flakes in the soup mix better and also insures better distribution in the meat. Plus my Mom always says you don't want to keep handling and remixing the meat and beating it up. I form it into a loose football shape and put it in a loaf pan (a made for TV one that has a lift out tray for the meatloaf and holes to allow the grease to drain away from the meatloaf). A loosely packed meatloaf makes the texture lighter (which we like). If you like it firmer then smash it into your pan for a more solid texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This turned out very tasty. I put a glaze topping on it that Connie recommended. I didn't have any honey so I used Peanut Oil. 3T ketchup, 1T Peanut Oil and 1/2t worchestershire. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've made this meatloaf a few times and it is a definite 5 stars with the changes I made. Totally new recipe, I know, but it's sooo good this way I just had to share (-: I halved the onion soup (next time I'll just cut it down by a quarter), added a few extra squeezes of ketchup, liquid smoke (maybe 1 tbsp), worcestershire sauce (maybe 2 tbsp), cayenne pepper (1/2 tsp), and 1/4 c brown sugar. I subbed the plain crackers with cheddar goldfish crackers. The glaze mentioned in one of the first few reviews is a must, as is placing bread on the bottom of the pan to reduce grease. You could just dump it out a few times while cooking. I did that the first time I made it and it worked out fine. I wouldn't try it when I double the recipe, as I did this time. I didn't have time for the loaf to cook so I just threw it into the skillet and browned the out of it. Again, I did double the recipe and it took maybe 10 minutes for a third of the batch to cook. It turned out to be a delicious "loose meat" sandwich on country potato bread, topped with American cheese and a little mayo. The extra onion soup mix wasn't missed when this recipe is used as a sandwich filling, but I'll be sure to add that onion soup (minus a quarter) the next time I make it in loaf form. Think I'm in the mood for a snack lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003

Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,029) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States