Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Thought this recipe called for a bit too many ingredients, but I followed it exactly and it was definitely worth the effort. Very tasty indeed! I used it on crab cakes and it was much better than the traditional red pepper sauce that I usually use. Had some leftover sauce that we used with fried shrimp a few days later and that was yummy too! I liked this much better than the remoulade sauces I've had in restaurants! This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Made this last night with "Lori's Famous Crab Cakes" and what a combination. My husband said this sauce was better than any restaurants'. I couldn't find any creole mustard or seasoning so I used the spicy brown mustard as suggested. We're trying to think of things to make just to use the sauce !!! Loved it and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I've made this recipe several times now and while it is alot of work to put together, the end result is well worth it. My only gripe would be that it has somewhat of a bitter taste to it (I think from too much creole mustard). I used all the ingredients but the olives and only about half the amount of salt and Louisiana hot sauce. I also used capers just because I really like them (about two tablespoons). To counter the bitter taste of the creole mustard I use only a table spoon and a half of the mustard instead of two and I add some brown sugar to it (five spoonfuls). It tastes much better this way in my humble opinion. I would say it is 3 stars without the sugar and 5 stars with it. Yes the sugar makes a BIG difference!! I do not make this sauce without it. This is an excellent recipe and will taste much better than any shrimp sauce that you get at a restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
excellent! I followed the recipe exactly (incl. capers) and this was great. My husband and I dipped seasoned grilled shrimp in this and we both loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Awesome! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiche Me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Prospect Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This Remoulade Sauce recipe is the best! At first I was skeptical about using every ingredient but I took a chance. I used every one except for the capers and it was DELICIOUS!! From now on, it is a must have to go along with all of our seafood. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This sauce was wonderful! It seemed like a lot of ingredients, but I used them all and it was excellent! Very fresh tasting and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PENGUINZ
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Was Really good- made this to go with cocktail shrimp and we ended up using it as dressing on the salad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENGUINZ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bridgeport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Excellent. I too will cut the salt down next time, because between the salmon patties that I served this with and these...something was a wee bit salty. A pain to make, but well worth it. Make it early and then refrigerate to let the flavors mingle. Thanks for the post Cookincowgirls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was delicious! My guests raved over it and asked for the recipe. Unfortunately I had a hard time finding a couple of the ingredients at the grocery store one was the creole mustard, I improvised and used spicey brown mustard and mixed in some cajun spice, I also thought I had hot sauce but when it came time to make it... oh well.... I put in a tablespoon of horseradish, I also did not use the capers. It was absolutely delicious!!! Can't wait to make it again! My guests used it over my own creation of crab, mayo, cheddar, broccoli and red pepper filled pastry, baked in a mini muffin pan. Thanks cookincowgirls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States