Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
What a wonderful blend of flavors! This recipe has a lot of flavors going on, so it can easily be tinkered with to suit individual tastes. For instance, hubby can't deal with "hot and spicy" so unfortunately I had to leave the hot sauce out. No matter--since I used brown mustard rather than Creole, I added a little Cajun seasoning, and that really gave this a boost of flavor to make up for not using the hot sauce. A teaspoon of salt seemed an awful lot to me so I used 1/2 tsp. and it was plenty salty enough. Unlike some others, I did use both the olives as well as the capers, the combination of which was a real flavor sensation! This was just perfect to serve with "Perfect Crab Cakes with Green Onions," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
In a word - "awesome"! Yes, for the long list of ingredients it looks like a lot of work for not a lot of pay off, but trust me you'll be glad you tried this especially if you're having really good crab cakes! Just to be on the safe side trying this for the first time I cut the recipe in half. I didn't have Creole mustard, so I used dijon and added 1/4 tsp. of "Cajun Seasoning Mix" from this site. I always have it on hand in a tiny tupperware container along wtih my other spices. I used some Frank's red hot for the hot sauce and also opted to add the capers which was a really good decision. I did however cut the amount of salt in half as the salt from the olives and capers really makes up for it. I let it set in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors come together and boy was it ever good! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Soooo gooood!! I eye-balled most of the ingredients, used regular mustard and some creole seasoning instead of creole mustard, bottled lemon juice, no salt and after tasting it, thought it needed more spice so I added a good squeeze of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce (found with the Asian food at the grocery store). It was still too chunky for me, so I put it all in a small blender attachment and gave it a whirl. Next time I won't bother chopping everything and do this from the get go. It was great the first day but the next day...WOW! All the flavors melded together and it was just right. The fish just SCREAMED for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Leave out the green olives and salt for a perfect Remoulade that's terrific with any seafood dish. Thanks for sharing. I'm not sure what other reviewers meant by this being a difficult or time-consuming recipe. In my opinion, the recipe went together quickly and perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Thought this recipe called for a bit too many ingredients, but I followed it exactly and it was definitely worth the effort. Very tasty indeed! I used it on crab cakes and it was much better than the traditional red pepper sauce that I usually use. Had some leftover sauce that we used with fried shrimp a few days later and that was yummy too! I liked this much better than the remoulade sauces I've had in restaurants! This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I've made this recipe several times now and while it is alot of work to put together, the end result is well worth it. My only gripe would be that it has somewhat of a bitter taste to it (I think from too much creole mustard). I used all the ingredients but the olives and only about half the amount of salt and Louisiana hot sauce. I also used capers just because I really like them (about two tablespoons). To counter the bitter taste of the creole mustard I use only a table spoon and a half of the mustard instead of two and I add some brown sugar to it (five spoonfuls). It tastes much better this way in my humble opinion. I would say it is 3 stars without the sugar and 5 stars with it. Yes the sugar makes a BIG difference!! I do not make this sauce without it. This is an excellent recipe and will taste much better than any shrimp sauce that you get at a restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was very good, after I fixed it up some, there was waay too much Creole mustard. And I even put the right amount in, I had to add sugar, more mayo, and some garlic powder, just to prevent the taste from being so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Made this last night with "Lori's Famous Crab Cakes" and what a combination. My husband said this sauce was better than any restaurants'. I couldn't find any creole mustard or seasoning so I used the spicy brown mustard as suggested. We're trying to think of things to make just to use the sauce !!! Loved it and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe! I left out the green olives because I didn't have any on hand. I also substituted a little jalapeno for the capers. Even without the capers and the olives, I discovered that it didn't need any salt. One other thing: It's very spicy if you use Sriracha. I love spicy food, so it was perfect for me. Those who aren't into spicy food, though, may want to dial things back a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I loved it so much I'm going to start keeping it on hand... so worth every single ingredient. It was dangerously close to a remoulade sauce I had at a very upscale restaurant recently. They served it with crab cakes. I just like it as a dipping sauce for and white meat or with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States