Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Made this last night with "Lori's Famous Crab Cakes" and what a combination. My husband said this sauce was better than any restaurants'. I couldn't find any creole mustard or seasoning so I used the spicy brown mustard as suggested. We're trying to think of things to make just to use the sauce !!! Loved it and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I've made this recipe several times now and while it is alot of work to put together, the end result is well worth it. My only gripe would be that it has somewhat of a bitter taste to it (I think from too much creole mustard). I used all the ingredients but the olives and only about half the amount of salt and Louisiana hot sauce. I also used capers just because I really like them (about two tablespoons). To counter the bitter taste of the creole mustard I use only a table spoon and a half of the mustard instead of two and I add some brown sugar to it (five spoonfuls). It tastes much better this way in my humble opinion. I would say it is 3 stars without the sugar and 5 stars with it. Yes the sugar makes a BIG difference!! I do not make this sauce without it. This is an excellent recipe and will taste much better than any shrimp sauce that you get at a restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was delicious! My guests raved over it and asked for the recipe. Unfortunately I had a hard time finding a couple of the ingredients at the grocery store one was the creole mustard, I improvised and used spicey brown mustard and mixed in some cajun spice, I also thought I had hot sauce but when it came time to make it... oh well.... I put in a tablespoon of horseradish, I also did not use the capers. It was absolutely delicious!!! Can't wait to make it again! My guests used it over my own creation of crab, mayo, cheddar, broccoli and red pepper filled pastry, baked in a mini muffin pan. Thanks cookincowgirls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Excellent. I too will cut the salt down next time, because between the salmon patties that I served this with and these...something was a wee bit salty. A pain to make, but well worth it. Make it early and then refrigerate to let the flavors mingle. Thanks for the post Cookincowgirls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Thought this recipe called for a bit too many ingredients, but I followed it exactly and it was definitely worth the effort. Very tasty indeed! I used it on crab cakes and it was much better than the traditional red pepper sauce that I usually use. Had some leftover sauce that we used with fried shrimp a few days later and that was yummy too! I liked this much better than the remoulade sauces I've had in restaurants! This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I didn't add the olives or capers and I still thought this was far too salty tasting. I didn't enjoy this remoulade sauce at all. I thought the chili powder was odd tasting on the crab cakes I served this with. I had to scrape mine off, this recipe didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Soooo gooood!! I eye-balled most of the ingredients, used regular mustard and some creole seasoning instead of creole mustard, bottled lemon juice, no salt and after tasting it, thought it needed more spice so I added a good squeeze of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce (found with the Asian food at the grocery store). It was still too chunky for me, so I put it all in a small blender attachment and gave it a whirl. Next time I won't bother chopping everything and do this from the get go. It was great the first day but the next day...WOW! All the flavors melded together and it was just right. The fish just SCREAMED for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was very good, after I fixed it up some, there was waay too much Creole mustard. And I even put the right amount in, I had to add sugar, more mayo, and some garlic powder, just to prevent the taste from being so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I loved it so much I'm going to start keeping it on hand... so worth every single ingredient. It was dangerously close to a remoulade sauce I had at a very upscale restaurant recently. They served it with crab cakes. I just like it as a dipping sauce for and white meat or with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe, although it wasn't as good as I've had in resturants before. Definately worth making again though. I great compliment to any Cajun meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States