Remarkable Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I think this is a great fudge, however the first time I made it, I had it cooking in a double boiler for more than 20 minutes and couldn't get above 200 degrees. I mixed the remaining ingredients in anyway and ended up with a very soft fudge. Not great. Today I tried again in a pan directly on the heat -- and decided not to use a candy thermometer. I boiled the butter, evaporated milk and butter mixture for 5 minutes and then mixed in the rest as per the instructions. The final result is firmer than last time, but it could still probably use another minute or two boiling on direct heat. This is actually the closest I've ever gotten to successfully making fudge, so this recipe will be saved and tried again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
tried it three times it does not always comes out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
One of the best recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Texture may not have been "sellable" but taste is great and for my first time fudge, it wasn't too difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginnerc_phd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I don't know what went wrong. I followed the directions perfectly except i did not have a double boiler so I just used a regular pan. They taste great, but they are more like chocolate icing than fudge. They are really gooey! I mean, REALLY gooey. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Fantastic recipe, and so easy. I made this for my husband's christmas party and there was nothing left by the end of the night. This will be my stand by fudge recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacinta C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
EDIT: I am changing my rating to five stars. Give these a day to sit and they are like heaven. They do have a shelf life though. Plan on eating these within a week for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Came out great - very simple and tasty. The end result was creamy, rich fudge. :) This is a lot like the recipe on the back of the Marshmallow Fluff jar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I failed the first time, but the second try turned out wonderful!! i have never been able to make fudge- but this recipe is a miracle! With a little practice- this fudge is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POUKALA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This fudge is tasty, but a little challenging for the non-candy maker. I did follow everything exactly, however, I think I was really concerned about hitting the 240 degree mark from other reviewers advice, I may have taken the temp to 245. I did use a candy thermometer, but trying to read a blue line against small separations, it may have been slightly over. That could explain the texture of the resulting fudge. However, the taste is very good, just more crumbly and dry than typical fudge. I submitted photos of what I did with the fudge and how it looks when it is "overdone".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States