Remarkable Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My family thinks I'm awesome! First attempt, followed exactly, left out the nuts (family preference) I don't have a double boiler so I used a nonstick 5 quart Dutch oven. I followed the advice on thus page and bought a thermometer and heard tool it read soft ball. The rest was as described, family still giving praise to me, guess I know what I'm making next year too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Sexy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Cohoes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a tasty treat! However, using a double boiler was NOT the way to go (which is the reason for four stars, instead of five). I did attempt to use my db to start with, but after 55 min. (and it was still just under 190 degrees F) I poured the extremely hot contents into a 2 qt. sauce pan and continued from there. The mixture bubbled up immediately and it was pretty effortless from there. Note: if you choose to go the "regular" or non-double boiler way, it is important to STIR CONTINUOUSLY to keep the sugar from burning on the bottom of the pan (don't worry - its not hard!) A candy thermometer is highly recommended, but if you don't have one just keep your eyes open for the very first sign of dark brown "spots" appearing in the bubbles. This indicates burning, and usually happens just after you've gone beyond the 236 degree F mark. All in all, a keeper but NOT a double boiler recipe (way harder that way)...thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Not sure you can get to 240 in a double boiler...:/ I did a double boil, first boil with sugar, 2 sticks of real butter and evaporated milk roiling for a couple of minutes then off heat... added the morsels stirring constantly and reheated to a second boil for another 3-4 min to finish melting them...med to just under a med high heat both times finally added nuts and into a lightly greased glass dish, allowed to cool non a rack for an hour then into the fridge to finish chilling...also I did use a whole can..12 oz of evap milk... Turned out fantastic, set up quick and fisnished firm and smooth texture not even grainy.. I think Grandma would be proud my first time ever and it literally melts on your tongue with amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I do not understand any negative remarks this fudge has received. I made it on a very humid and rainy afternoon, boiled it to soft ball stage, poured it out, sliced it while it was still a bit warm, and today it is set up and ready to find its way into Christmas gift baskets. Completely awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
First time making fudge! Absolutely devine! I had bittersweet chocolate chips, which are a little too bitter for me, so I added about 4 oz. of Hershey's milk chocolate kisses with the other 8 oz. of bittersweet chocolate chips. The flavor turned out amazing, the perfect amount of milky flavor. For those of you who don't have evaporated milk at hand, I used a combination of 3/4 cup dry milk and 4/5 cup water which turned out as a perfect substitute. I will definitely be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This doesn't get hot enough when cooked in double boiler. I had to take it out of double boiler and cook in saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
It seems to have turned out fine, but I, too, had trouble getting it up to temp in the double boiler. After nearly an hour, I ended up putting it all in the microwave in an 8 c. measuring bowl, and microwaving it a minute at a time until the temp came up. Ahh...a friend just told me a double boiler is designed to keep the ingredients in the top pan at or below the boiling temp of water (212F), so there's no way to get something up to 236F in a double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is similar to my mom's fudge recipe. The main differences I see are the amount of sugar & evaporated milk and how it's combined. My mom's calls for the butter, chocolate chips, nuts, marshmallow cream and a tsp of vanilla to be placed all in one bowl. Then over medium heat, you combine 3 cups of sugar and 1 1/3 cups of evaporated milk and bring to a rolling boil. You then allow it to continue to boil for exactly 8 minutes, stirring constantly. Then you pour the hot mixture over the chip mixture and stir until well combined and the chips and butter are melted. You then pour immediately into the pan and allow to chill for 1 hr to set up. Makes great fudge, BUT I have found over the years that you want to make sure and NOT make this on a humid day. It doesn't want to set up if you do. Well at least not in the south. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this yesterday to send to friends and relatives out of town and it turned out very good. Like other reviewers I didn't use a double boiler, but buttered a 4 quart saucepan, which makes sure the mixture doesn't stick to the pan. I also cooked it using a candy thermometer (essential I think for making fudge) and heated it to almost 250 degrees and it came out great. With these few tweaks, I will be making this fudge recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This reminds me of the fudge we had growin up, I had to replace 7 oz marshmallow fluf for 1 1/2 cup of mini marshmallows. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States