Rellenitos de Platano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
To add to authentic taste: As the previous reviewer suggested, add a stick or two of cinnamon when boiling the plantains. For a sweeter taste (or to make it more likely that ninos will eat them), when you mash the plantains, add a bit of sugar. I also make salted cinnamon fudge to put inside. If you want it purely as dessert, you can even use cinnamon fudge in place of the beans; but to keep it authentic keep the beans, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
For this recipe you MUST use ripened plantains, with green plantains it will taste completely different. It won't necessarily be bad but it is a totally different dish altogether because plantains change in texture and flavor when they ripen. If you use green, these will be more like a potato dumpling filled with beans and will favor a savory taste. If you use ripe plantains these will be softer and have a sweet taste, similar to a sweet potato fritter (slightly sweeter depending on the ripeness level of the plantains). I am using the potato/sweet potato analogy to give you an idea of the sweetness, not because the taste is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I like this recipe but i added more sugar to the beans and left out the salt .. also i placed the plantains in the water with their peels to give it more flavor and put 2 tablespoons of sugar and some cinnamon in the water as well ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I was looking for something from Guatemala besides black beans and tortillas ( which are great!)These were delicious! I took them to a church function and the plate was left empty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I liked these fine though they were a little difficult to handle. Not sure I'd make them again. Boyfriend didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I am Guatemalan born in the US and I've always had these. This is as close as you're going to get to the ones in El mercado central! couple of suggestions: Boil the plantains with a stick of cinnamon and use very rippened plantains. Greasy black peel almost moldy works best. It's easier to work with and is way sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Absolutely delicious. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Tesorito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My mother-in-law made these for me when she was visiting from Guatemala and I have made them a few times. I omit the salt. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
All the family loved them. Next time omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States