Reheating Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I'm doing this for the spaghetti dinner I'm hosting this evening for our high school girls soccer team. There will be anywhere from 20-38 girls and there's no way I could keep the spaghetti cooking fresh quickly enough for them. They like to come in, eat, and get out again, usually all are gone within the hour. This application is perfect for this situation!! Every day meals, no not really, but it's ideal for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have been to a pasta bar where they used this same technique. That way the pasta was ready for a large group when they wanted it. They used a canister with holes, you chose the pasta type, they added a serving to the canister, dunked it into the boiling pots for 1-2 minutes and your pasta was ready for your choice of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is a GREAT idea, especially for "cooking for one or two" or different shifts. Excellent tip. THANKYOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I agree, may as well cook fresh. Someone told me to just put your frozen or cold pasta in a colendar, boil water in the kettle and pour it over. Works like a charm and it steaming hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is great for a restaurant and used it when I worked in AZ, but at home it's useless, by the time the water is boiling, the sauce warmed up 5 minutes won't make the difference, and after 5 or 6 days you have to dump the pasta you didn't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
OK, I don't see the huge timesaver here. What takes so much time is bringing the water to a boil. With the reheating part, you're bringing the water to a boil a second time. In my opinion, you're better off just to boil the pasta when you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I love this idea! It is especially good for those busy days/evenings. When I first tried this recipe I was having a busy day so I made this in the morning and then re-boiled half of it in the evening for a quick dinner. I froze the other half of the pasta in an airtight bag - which I had today and it was so convenient since I was in a hurry. Definitely worth five stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I do this when I have a dinner party and I make Bowtie Pasta with Chicken in Asiago cream sauce. Works fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My daughter loves fresh pasta when she gets home from school. To speed things up...I cook the whole box. Place single servings in small zip-top bags and pop them in the freezer. All she has to do is dump a bag onto a plate...microwave it for 1 minute then top it with some sauce and microwave it for 1 more minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I had my doubts, but it works. Not as good as doing the cooking all at once, but when in a rush you have to take what you can get. Make sure to leave the pasta a little under done. Thank you Myrna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States