Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This is how I modify this recipe for 1 Gallon jar of pickles and veggies: 15 pickling cucumbers, 1 red bell pepper (cut bite size), 1 yellow bell pepper (cut bite size), 2 texas sweet onions (cut bite size), 1 entire stalk of celery (cut bite size), 8 carrots (peeled and cut on bias). Then 2 Tablespoons salt, 2 teaspoons of celery seed. Brine is made of 1 3/4 cups sugar, and 1 1/4 cup white wine vinegar. I only put cucumber, onion bellpepper into the salt mixture. These are all the vegetables that we have tried and they are great this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Hamblen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These are the crispest pickles! I did cut the sugar in half, left out the sweet peppers, added 1 t. pickling spice instead of the celery seed and 2 t. red pepper flakes. Wonderful! I have had the piclkes for 1 week and already shared the recipe with 5 friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
So easy to do, and the taste is excellent. I even kept adding cucumbers for weeks into the recipe and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Pickles are crisp, frest tasting and delightfully good. My husband and I are sure to get raves when we take these pickles to our family outing. It took no time at all for us to make them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Very, very good. I'll cut the sugar next time, but I think that's just personal preference - my husband did not think they were too sweet at all. I might also do an experiment with Splenda. Used white onion because I didn't have red. I cut the cucumbers REALLY thin, so it turned out more like a cucumber salad than pickles, but delicious nonetheless. Plan to double or triple if you're taking to a picnic or barbeque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I liked these pickles. They were my first try at making pickles. Very easy to make. My husband did not care for them, he said they taste too much like cucumbers. If you like cucumber salad, you will like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
My 15 year old daughter made these with cucumbers out of my mom's garden! They were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
These pickles are delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing it! A neighbor had given a bag full of cucumbers and I was looking for something to make with them. I made PICKLES and plan to share them with my neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
Great Fun!! Great Taste!! Easy as Easy Gets!!Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernmancooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Not really pickles, but delicious all the same! To make "pickles" crispy, MAKE THE VINEGAR SOLUTION FIRST, and refrigerate. Use REFRIGERATED cucumbers and after salting, put them BACK in the frig. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup; used 2 cups Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar (it has mother in it, great stuff); used the Hothouse English Cucumbers in plastic wrap, and peeled them a little bit, not all the way. No onion and no green pepper; instead I placed a fresh Serrano chile pepper halved lengthwise in each jar, because we appreciate hot and spicy food. I did use a Tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes, and a Tablespoon of celery seed. If I had fresh dill I would have tossed a sprig in. I put the cucumbers into the jars first, then covered them to the top with the vinegar solution. If you don't have enough vinegar solution, do NOT add water...just fill each jar up evenly, then top with more vinegar. Taste the next day, some may prefer more sugar, but not me! Another good thing...as each jar empties of pickles, just add more cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States