Refrigerator Nut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
I've been looking for this recipe. After I moved over 23 years ago it was lost. The lady was unable to give me the recipe again as she was seriously ill. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
These were very good. Instead of rolling and cutting them as individual cookies, I rolled and baked each as a large nut roll. Made wonderful hostess gifts when visiting at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This was the surprise hit of my Christmas baking this past year. I halved the recipe and STILL had a lot of cookies. They freeze well, and are a nice addition to my cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmcormier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Delicious. Makes a BUNCH. My mother in law always made these for Christmas gifts - she always made mini's, though. Great with tea or coffee - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These are really good. A great change for all the sweet treats. Great for christmas give aways. I cut the recipe in half and it still made alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Great recipe to base full nut rolls from. I did, however, make tons of changes so they turned out appropriately. Halved the dough recipe and had to double the filling. Omit the milk. Didn't let the dough stand overnight and had it warm when rolled out so you can roll dough very thin. Bake for 30-35 minutes. I ended up with 6 12-18" nut rolls that were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've rated 5 stars because technically, I never had a single problem. The recipe is perfect as it stands, even when making a half recipe. They look very pretty and inviting, but the problem is it's a nut filling rolled in bread. The description and ingredients fool you into thinking this is some kind of pastry, but it has the exact texture and taste of bread. Dividing the dough (1/2 recipe) into 8 portions will make 128 rolls which overflows 2 aluminum pie plates. I baked on a baking stone so the bottoms don't get so browned. ** Edit** NO ONE like them. NO ONE! Maybe they can be fixed with a drizzle of caramel icing on top...because there's still a huge amount left in my freezer. The idea was good but I won't be making these again unless the carmel icing idea goes over. I might use the nut filling somewhere else. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These nut rolls are very easy to make as far as making nut rolls are concerned. The texture of the dough is perfect and they are delicious. My family and friends all raved about them saying they were the best they had ever tasted. We are a cookie family, so that is a pretty great review. I used the recipe exactly as written except I rolled the prebaked cookie in granulated sugar because I read the other reviews which stated they were not sweet. My mother and her Italian friends did this with their nut rolls. I think this made them perfect. it does make a lot, but they freeze very well and you always have something you can pull out of the freezer when you get unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this for Christmas and it was a HUGE hit! With EVERYONE! Family, Work, Friends... They said they will be looking forward to more for next Christmas. It did freeze nicely as well! Will absolutely keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is exactly what I was looking for. This is a traditional old fashioned nut roll. Not too sweet.....great with a cup of coffee. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States