Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
So easy! Absolutely delicious use for leftover cukes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
perfect . the only change is I add only a tea spoon of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
So great that it doesn't have as much sugar as other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and it was yummy! This is my first time making any type of pickle. Can I keep the juice and keep adding cucumbers? thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These really are delicious (and easy, too). Unless you're a gardener familiar with growing dill, you're probably like I am and don't know what a "head of dill" is. I bought a pkg of mini gourmet cukes (unwaxed so I didn't have to peel them) which turned out to be the perfect size for my jar. As far as the amount of the fresh dill to use, I just loaded up the jar with the the dill stems and cuke spears, and poured in the vinegar mixture. White vinegar is milder in taste, so these pickles won't make you pucker, and as others mentioned, I'm not sure you even need the small amount of sugar. They are crunchy and simply fresh tasting, and that works for me. I can see this on the Christmas Gift List this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I didn't know what a head of dill was, and I didn't know how to measure cucumber spears (obviously I don't spend much time in the kitchen), but these turned out crunchy and delicious. I think I'm going to add another cucumber to the existing juice to save some money. I don't grow cucumbers or dill so it was a bit pricey. Next year I'll grow both as my family LOVES their dill pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I am sorry to say that these turned out badly and I don't know why. They were very soft and had an unpleasant taste. I have reviewed the amounts and directions carefully, and made sure the liquid was cooled as instructed. I can't see where I made an error. I make refrigerator pickles most years and have for a long time, so I do have some experience. I would really like to try a refrigerator dill pickle recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
These are very easy and delicious! I don't care for sugar in pickles so I omitted it and I had picked more dill than the recipe calls for, so I put it in and that seemed to make it only tastier. This is how I'll use up my extra cucumbers from now on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious! And this is coming from someone who doesn't like Dill Pickles! These are light and crisp and bright. I did add about 1 tablespoon extra vinegar as I like "zing" and added about 3-5 dill seeds to each jar along with dill weed and part of a dill head from the garden. I cut spears from the center portion of the cukes and retained the ends. After all spears were in jars, I cut the ends into chips and made pint jars of chips. GREAT on burgers off the grill! My family loves dill pickles and we've got a lot of cukes this year so I think I'll be making quite a few batches of these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsPhillips
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made these about a week ago and just opened them tonight to serve at my hubby's birthday party. They were a hit! I grew my own pickling cucumbers and let me kids help with this recipe since it was so easy. We got lots of compliments. I did go easy on the salt and added a little more fresh dill. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States