Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I can't help wondering if I did something wrong considering the positive reviews everyone else had, but these pickles were not good, and I'm more pretty accepting of anything made with vinegar. I used sliced cucumbers and they stayed nice as far as crispness and color (very pretty) but the taste was bad - not like a pickle at all. I would not discourage others from making them, due to the other good reviews, but have to say it was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These pickles were very tasty, and super easy. I am going to try this brine recipe with cauliflower, and dilly beans with a touch of chili flakes. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Gerhartz

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
The texture on these was okay, but none of us thought they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very easy and yummy. I sliced my cucumbers for this recipe and they turned out great! I also added 2 tsp. salt not 1. I used fresh dill from the garden and added in some leaves along with the heads. I added more garlic too. I put my seasonings(except cucumbers) in when the brine was hot and it seemed to work better. I made a spicy version by adding jalapenos, black peppercorns and red pepper flakes and the spicy version was a big hit! They really reach full flavor after 3 days in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrotgravy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Pretty amazing recipe-- easy to make and the pickles were delicious. I even went so far as to reuse the brine once with another set of cukes and they were just as good. Once they were gone, adding a bit of oil to the brine makes for an amazing oil and vinegar dressing for salads or even as an addition to potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlisonBauer
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
These pickles were fabulous! My daughters age 10 and 1.5 years can't get enough. They were gone almost in one day!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These came out crunchy and fresh! I made them according to the recipe, but cut the sugar because of other comments. I think I'll use the sugar amount listed next time, and there will be a next time! I also didn't know how much a head of dill was, so I just picked a bunch of it and threw it in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved this, but particularly the batch I made where I doubled the salt and when cooking the marinade, I added a bunch of fresh dill to the mixture. It infused the dill much quicker into the pickles. From now on I will only make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
They turned out crisp and tasty! It was easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I just made these tonight and they were very simple. I was unsure about the quantity of cucumber and how much it made. I used 6 cucumber and yielded 2 quarts. Stay tuned for tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States