Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I've never made pickles. Really, I didn't even know I wanted to until I walked through the Farmers Market and saw the cutest little pickling cucumbers, which I purchased. Then it was time to find a recipe. I was looking for something not too complicated since this was my first attempt. I wanted something that met my taste buds. I wanted something that everyone else raved about. THIS WAS THAT RECIPE!!! I followed the directions with slight modifications. I split the vinegar... 1 C White and 1/4 C Apple Cider. I also added peppercorns and exchanged the sugar for Splenda. Other than that, verbatim. I will consider myself a pickle maker from now on!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I have made these pickles a number of times with Persian cucumbers-cut into chip, spear or halves today I will cut them into sandwich planks-endless possibilities with this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Even with that of little sugar they were way to sweet for me to call them dills, I had to add about 1 cup vinegar and and two tablespoons of "pickling salt" (just super fine ground salt, I used my mortar and pestle with sea salt) to get the sweetness out. Now they are pretty good but still nothing near what I call dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Sneed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
We are big pickle fans. This was my first attempt at trying a homemade recipe. I didn't have pickling cucumbers so I used regular. They were a little too tart for my husband but my 9 year old ate the whole jar within a few days. I thought they were crisp and tasty alone or on burgers (I made a sliced jar too). I plan to try different variations (spices, pickling cucumbers, etc). because this recipe is too easy not to. Maybe we are not tough critics but I just can't see how you can go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These were good. I do can dill and bread and butter pickles each year and always have some leftover cucumbers. So this year I decided to use the leftover cucumbers to make this recipe. After they were in the fridge for a week or so I decided to double the garlic and dill for more flavor. In my opinion they needed the extra flavor. I'll use this recipe again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I experimented with both baby cucumbers and regular sized ones and would highly recommend the smaller ones as they stay crunchy. The middle of larger ones (where the seeds are) get a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
These are great! At first taste they pucker ur mouth, but after the second bite I couldn't stop eating them. I added a few extra garlic cloves and dill, but didn't change anything else. This was my first try at refridgerator pickles and I will continue to use this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
My kids LOVED these pickles. They were so easy to make...the hardest part was waiting the 3 days to eat them. We are on our second round since the first 5 jars we made lasted for only 2 weeks. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I've made these for two summers now and they are a hit every time. We now only add 1 teaspoon of sugar and 5 or 6 whole peppercorns. I have to make them and hide them in the frig or my family will eat them even before the 3 days are up! Oh I forgot, we also add 1 small onion sliced into rings sometimes too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! I made it exactly as written and it has the perfect blend of tart and sweet to my taste. I love that it doesn't use much sugar or salt as we have several diabetics in the family. I will try a batch with the suggested tsp of sugar just to see if I can cut more without compromising the taste. I plan to make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States