Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
5 tsp salt is definitely too much. I cut it to 2 tsp and that wasn't quite enough. I'll try 2-1/2 next time--and there WILL be a next time. You can't beat the texture, and the hint of jalapeno and onion were perfect. For those who like any amount of heat, at least double the jalapeno. We prefer things mild, and the flavor was there without any real spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I tried it and it came out so delicious. I added bacon grease and it gave it amazing flavor. (so I recommend the bacon grease.) Also be quite careful about the salt in this recipe. It is WAY too much! Add less salt or add salt slowly and gradually until you get the taste you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe was great. I was skeptical of the flavor at first but the end product was exquisite. I cooked mine on low overnight and only added 3 teaspoons of salt instead of 5. You can always add more salt at the end if you needed. This recipe is so much better than what you buy at the store, Thank You Chef Claude!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jermy A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Love this recipe. I use 1-1/2 Tbps minced garlic from a jar, 4 fps salt, 1 Tbps bacon grease, 1 diced jalapeno, 2 diced green chilies, only 8 cups of water. Then I removed 2 cups of water and it is the perfect thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I like so many of us would buy canned refried beans. After looking at the cost difference in making from dry vs can, I decided to make from dry. This a GREAT recipe. The good thing about making these 'beans' is that you can make them and freeze them if not going to use all at once. (we have some type of with beans dish atleast once a week) and the kids use then for breakfast tacos. I have over time adjusted the seasoning to our tastes but with those listed. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These were awesome. VERY easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This has become a staple in our family. It is so simple and delicious. I take out some of the liquid at the end and just mash them with a potato masher. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alysia313

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very salty and peppery! I like the cumin and jalapenos, but 2 tsp salt & 1 tsp pepper was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
For the most part, I followed the recipe to the T. The only thing I did was cut the salt in half according to every user who gave a review on this recipe. I still found it to be a tad bit salty. Also, instead of mashing the beans I threw it in the blender. Awesome healthier alternative to refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Love these beans!!!! I'd give the original recipe 4.5 stars if I could. Great flavor for not being refried. The only suggestion I'd make is go easy on the salt and black pepper! The first time I followed the recipe as is...way too much salt and pepper!! Now I use chicken broth instead of water and salt/pepper to taste. These freeze great, too! I've even boiled them on the stove for at least 5 hours without soaking them first and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States