Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I have been making all my beans in a slow cooker for years. I increase the ingredients some, add chili powder, and replace the water with beef stock I also use my hand-held mixer rather than a potato masher. Its quicker and easier. If you add a little cooked ground beef or turkey after mashing them and increase the liquid, you have an excellent burrito filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I love refried beans this was very good and the spices i use very little and used no salt add sausage and cheese very good i even had a lot to share with my sister and next time freeze for another meal thank u they were absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
These were absolutely awesome. I will not buy refried beans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Love this recipe! I don't put the salt in until the end and. After I get it to the consistency I want, I add a couple of cups of shredded mild cheddar! Delish! Thank you Chef Claude!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
We went ahead and soaked the beans overnight in cold water, then cleaned and rinsed the next morning. Never have done dried beans any other way, so?? But followed recipe almost exact: Naturally cut way back on Salt*!* Didn't have fresh Jalapenos, but had one big can of sliced jalapenos, so used some of those, instead. Added a pinch of sugar, per one reviewer, since salt/sugar do go together to bring up flavors. Can't wait to try this w/homemade chicken stock from Jill's recipe! &/or the Roasted Chk Stock from Chef John (both video's) Loved mashing them by hand. ENJOY*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This is much healthier. I am wondering if a large batch can be made and then frozen in serving sizes. Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Easy, delicious, and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Camp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Delicious! I will never buy canned refried beans again! The only issue I had though was based on other reviews I cut the salt back to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I found that it needed more salt and I normally don't salt my food. Next time I will try 2 1/2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I changed the recipe a little bit by using black beans instead of pinto beans. I used only 2 1/2 tsp of sea salt and chicken broth instead of plain water. I also added a few small slices of ginger root to help with digestibility. These were the best "refried" beans I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I will never buy refried beans again. The whole family, kids included, request that I always have some on hand now and it's easy enough that I can. I go ahead and throw the whole jalapeno in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States