Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Followed other users advice and used a little less salt and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Wow Easy peasy tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I really really like this. Made as directed. Freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Great pinto beans! I added some spices to increase the heat factor, we like it hot. Cayenne pepper, serrano peppers in place of jalapenos, a few shakes of hot sauce and more cumin than directed...very good. I even forgot about the beans and they ended up cooking for 11 hours instead of 8...they were still good. We made a bean dip with ground beef, sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream and salsa. We dipped tortilla chips into the dip and enjoyed it very much. The remaining beans were packed and frozen for future uses. I will make this one again and again. No need to pay for canned beans ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Delish! I also used a little less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traveling Vegan Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe, using less salt. It was fair, but lacked flavor, and really couldn't "stand on its own." Next time I will use some fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I started making this recipe when we were living overseas, and refried beans were very difficult to find and very expensive as well. I liked it a lot as written, and since I am watching sodium, I halved the salt. It works well with other beans, too. When elecricity was iffy and beans didn't completely cook, I finished them in a pressure cooker in few minutes. We are back in the states now and I still make them, but I add a small can of chipoltle peppers. Much better than canned, all the way around. Sometimes I cook them in chicken broth and beer and omit the salt. You don't have to mash them. I use this recipe for black beans to replace canned beans in recipes for much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I've been cooking my beans in a slow cooker for years. This is a good recipe. One of the greatest attributes of allrecipes.com is the comment section. It is so helpful to read other's suggestions and experiences in cooking a specific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Exceptionally tasty! My one year old loved them, too. I modified the recipe using suggestions from 100daysofrealfood.com. I changed the beans to 2 cups (which is one bag and much easier than having half a bag open), 6 cups of water, slightly more cumin than suggested (hearty pinch), 2 garlic cloves instead of the 2 tbsp, and I left out the jalapeno because I was feeding this to a baby. I did need to add a little more salt for my liking. It is fantastic with a little shredded cheese on top and slices of avocado. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States