Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wonderful, easy and delicious! I won't be buying canned beans anymore, SO much tastier!!! I followed recipe exactly and I'm very happy I did. Thanks for this addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennuine9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Hidden Valley Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I'll never buy canned refried beans again! This was incredibly easy and sooo tasty! I made this exactly as written, with one exception - I used the whole jalapeno not just half. Next time, I'd use less garlic and less salt; however, I say that as I'm eating my third helping today. ;-) I started this out on high and it boiled over...so I dropped it to low. All in all, it was on high for about 3 hours and on low for almost 10 - I fell asleep and turned it off in the morning. These beans are creamy, totally flavorful, mash well, and reheat beautifully! Definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I absoluely love these beans! Sometimes we make them and don't do the "mashing" to serve with cornbread. The flavor and method work wonderfully. We have also made black beans using this same recipe and they turn out great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I rarely write reviews for recipes but this is the exception. If I could give these 10 stars I would. They were better than any can beans by far. I ate them breakfast, lunch and dinner. I kept sneaking spoons out of the slow cooker. These are the best refried beans I have ever had. The only change I was that I trippled the cumin because I love the taste. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
These are terrific. I added no salt until after cooked and then only 1 1/2 tsp. I added extra garlic and will add even more next time and also a little more cumin. Loved how easy and creamy and delicious these turned out. I too will never buy canned refried beans again. Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great. Husband really liked them. Add 1/2cup of water about 5 hours into cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I love this recipe. Although I soak and rinse the beans for 2-3 days. To let them out gas. No gas for me. Rinse and drain beans before adding beef stock instead of water Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This tastes so much better than canned refried beans. I do put butter in it for a better taste but I still consider it much healthier than the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I really thought these were perfect. I was concerned about cooking them for 8 hours on high but they were phenomenal. I soaked the beans overnight with a piece of kombu before cooking them (and cooked the kombu in with them). I also upped the garlic to 15 cloves and used garlic parsley salt instead of plain. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
For a dip for chips that is even better than FRITO LAY dip, drain and mash per recipe and do not add back water, but 2 or 3 cans of Ro-Tel HOT diced tomatoes and green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mulberry, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States