Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Perfect recipe for refried beans. Serve them with lettuce, tomato, guacamole, sour cream and fresh salsa on top and it is a wonderfully healthy ( and very cheap) meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Everyone seemed to really like this. I used canned green chiles, added more cumin to taste, and altered the recipe for the stovetop using canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Subbed chicken stock for water. Used a can of green chiles in place of jalapeño. Need to eliminate salt altogether if using stock! Ran beans through food processor which made them creamy & delicious. Served with Cojita cheese sprinkled on top. Big hit at my carne Asada party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because of the excessive salt. Thank goodness I read the reviews before I made it for the first time, and cut the salt in half. I also took the advice of adding salt after the beans have cooked. I used chicken stock in place of some of the water, for a little flavor boost, but it's still great with just water. Thanks for the healthy and delicious alternative to canned beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Canned beans aren't gonna cut it after making these. After trying a few different ways I found a few changes made a big difference. I add a can of whole tomatoes, 3 chicken bullion cubes and cut the pepper back a half of a teaspoon only using 1 and 1/4 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilylynne1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
These beans were amazing! I cooked them on the stovetop instead of the slow cooker and it took approx. 2 hours to cook them. I then used my kitchen aid mixer to mash them up! The only thing I would do differently next time is cut down on the salt, maybe add 3 tsp instead. But they were delicious and I will be making these from now on instead of buying canned refried beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
So easy and delicious! I did not use the jalepeno and doubled the cumin. Can't go wrong with this recipe. Perfect! We will be making this one again and again and again. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Next time I would use a whole jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Starting my fourth rerun of this recipe tonight. Tweaking for my family's taste per the many reviews, this is the recipe to start with. A great one, glad to have in my recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangentTom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Very authentic. I used some liquid smoke and a bit (2 tablespoons) of bacon grease. I also used an electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States