Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wonderful! I will never be satisfied with canned refried beans again. Since I was short on time I used canned beans in a pot on the stove. Also, I used a bell pepper instead. Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
awesome!! Cant believe making beans could be so simple! Rinsing them and sticking them in the slow cooker on low over night was awesome! Flavor was fantastic and the fantastic thing is you can change them to suit any flavor. I will never buy another can of beans. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Faddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
SALTY! I almost threw out the first batch because we couldn't eat it, but I'm cheap and decided to make a second batch without salt and mix the two. I haven't tried it yet but my DH said it was great and to keep the recipe. Next time, I'll cut the salt down to 2 teaspoons. Tonight: beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These are great 5stars as is but to tweak it I like to add a small can of diced chilies instead of the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These were really good. I couldn't find the canned brand I like so I tried these. They were even better. I think these would be good even w.o. mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Insanely good. I put the slow cooker on the 8 hour setting, which translates to low. The beans were no where near cooked. I just popped them in the pressure cooker for about ten more minutes. The seasonings were spot on (I went with the reduced salt recommendations). No more canned beans again! Next time I may just try all pressure cooker, just to seen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by auntiejuleskitchen
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Amazing!!! I soaked them in a bowl of water for 2.5 days and then boiled them for and hour or so until they were soft and then let them simmer in the seasonings for longer. Best recipe of flavors!! Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
These were so much better then canned. And I love that these are vegan for some family members! Woot! I used 3 tsp of salt and it was perfect. I also used two onions and 6 small garlic cloves. I drained off all the liquid and added about 1/2 cup of water back into the beans after I used my hand mixer to mash them. We used these in burritos tonight and some ate them as a side and we had no leftovers. I think these are a new staple in our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Good and easy. I used a whole jalapeno but removed the seeds and ribs. It gave the beans a nice mild zip. Reduced the salt to 2 tsp since we watch our sodium and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was certainly easy. Following the reviews of others I cut back on the salt (figuring I could always add more later) and added a little more cumin. I over blended using my immersion blender so in the future I'd prefer more whole beans. Next time I'll set some beans aside and blend the rest in the crock then combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States