Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My only issue with this recipe was that it was a tad too salty. An easy fix. These are better than any canned refried beans and pretty much as good as or better than) any I've had in Mexican restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These are the best refried beans I've ever tasted...even better than in the Mexican restaurants. I added lots of garlic salt since we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I have read discussions about these beans for long enough. It was time I try them and get over my fear of using dried beans. Wow, what a simple and tasty recipe! I added all the ingredients (only used 2 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 whole jalapeño, and added the cumin) to the crockpot and at about hour 6 the juices were at a slow boil around the edges of the crockpot. I just let them boil as there was still plenty of juice. I drained them at the 8 hour mark, saving the juice, and mashed them. The first night we had them, no extra juice was needed as the beans were warm. After refrigerating them and reheating I needed to add some of the extra juice I had saved. My DH, who isn't a huge fan of refried beans loved these. I froze 3 containers for another time. A fantastic recipe, simple to make, and one that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is my go to recipe for no-refried beans. Easy to throw together before heading off to work in AM on low. Have some for dinner and freeze the rest in ziploc baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Absolutely fabulous!! So pleased with this recipe! Thank you so for it. Everyone loved it, can't believe how tasty and versatile. Will keep it as a staple now. PS. I only used 8 cups of water, and smoked paprika instead of cumin ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinrosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great! Never will buy canned refried beans again. Didn't add salt until beans were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my favorite recipe on this site! It is so easy and the resulting beans are so versatile. Not only a stand alone refried bean dish but I've used this recipe as a base for soup, chili and the greatest bean dip ever. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I tried this one tonight, and everyone loved it! I followed one of the other reviews and used a can of green chilies instead of a jalapeno. Instead of mashing, I threw it all in the blender after I drained, with a little of the juice added in, and--bam!--we were in business. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I loved these beans AND they were super easy to make!!! The only change I made was using half of a jalapeno because I like my food pretty spice. I am going to use 2 jalapenos next time because it still wasn't very spicy. Thank you for the delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent. I can't get enough of these. I will never buy canned refried beans again. I did reduce the salt per recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States