Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this as stated except I used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustang sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I think the glowing reviews got my expectations out of line. It was ok - just, you know, beans! Glad to know I can make it from scratch. Just one word of advice - they dry out quick, so be sure to save plenty of the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I have made these beans multiple times, my family loves them. After serving them to my parents my mom now makes them also. Half the time we don't even mash them up but leave them whole and eat with corn bread. I'm only doing 4 stars because I've never had them with the jalapeno since my husband doesn't handle spice to well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
These are incredible. Like so many others, I will never buy canned refried beans again. I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't add the salt until I was mashing and I only used about 2.5 tsp. That was plenty. So simple and yet so wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I haven't eaten refried beans in years simply because of the lard, even though I really like them. I was amazed at how much these taste like the lard-loaded traditional beans, with none of the "bad". Really, really good recipe, thank you so much ChefClaude!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I've made homemade beans for years. When I saw this I had to try it. I followed the recipe as written with two changes: one less teaspoon of salt and I added 3 slices of raw bacon. It turned out delicious. Bacon was always a necessary ingredient when I made beans just like my grandma did. I know this recipe is supposed to be low fat but if that is not of concern to you then add the bacon. You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Never had a lot of luck making beans until this recipe. It's just right for our taste. I make a pot and then freeze in serving sizes with juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent recipe for non re fried beans. My son and I have this at least every other week. Just pop the leftovers either in the freezer or fridge, and cook em up em later.. The only tweak is mixing a cup of black beans with two cups pinto beans, and of course not to add the salt. There is plenty of flavor with the ingredients already. You can always season to taste after their cooked. 5 teaspoons of salt is waaay to much for anyone watching their sodium intake. this is definetly my go to side dish after a long day at work. Thanks Chef Claude!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe was so incredibly easy. I love the crock pot method so much more than other methods I have tried (stove top). The beans came out so deliciously tasty! I thought I would make a whole batch and freeze leftovers... but there were not any!! Will definitely again. Thank you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I didn't have any because I was in the middle of a strict diet but I literally had to stop my kids from fighting over them! That's a hit in my book! My (very thin and very active) daughter ate 9 of them when she came home from school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States