Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
SALTY! I almost threw out the first batch because we couldn't eat it, but I'm cheap and decided to make a second batch without salt and mix the two. I haven't tried it yet but my DH said it was great and to keep the recipe. Next time, I'll cut the salt down to 2 teaspoons. Tonight: beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These are great 5stars as is but to tweak it I like to add a small can of diced chilies instead of the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These were really good. I couldn't find the canned brand I like so I tried these. They were even better. I think these would be good even w.o. mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Insanely good. I put the slow cooker on the 8 hour setting, which translates to low. The beans were no where near cooked. I just popped them in the pressure cooker for about ten more minutes. The seasonings were spot on (I went with the reduced salt recommendations). No more canned beans again! Next time I may just try all pressure cooker, just to seen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by auntiejuleskitchen
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Amazing!!! I soaked them in a bowl of water for 2.5 days and then boiled them for and hour or so until they were soft and then let them simmer in the seasonings for longer. Best recipe of flavors!! Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
These were so much better then canned. And I love that these are vegan for some family members! Woot! I used 3 tsp of salt and it was perfect. I also used two onions and 6 small garlic cloves. I drained off all the liquid and added about 1/2 cup of water back into the beans after I used my hand mixer to mash them. We used these in burritos tonight and some ate them as a side and we had no leftovers. I think these are a new staple in our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Good and easy. I used a whole jalapeno but removed the seeds and ribs. It gave the beans a nice mild zip. Reduced the salt to 2 tsp since we watch our sodium and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was certainly easy. Following the reviews of others I cut back on the salt (figuring I could always add more later) and added a little more cumin. I over blended using my immersion blender so in the future I'd prefer more whole beans. Next time I'll set some beans aside and blend the rest in the crock then combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was great! Even better the next day,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I have been making this recipe now for approx 6 years! It is so good I haven't bought refried beans since. I make the full batch and freeze them in containers big enough for may family. I use an immersion blender for half then add the rest before freezing. excellent recipe. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States