Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Being a vegetarian, this recipe has become a staple for me. I love how healthy and yummy these beans are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I was raised on beans with pork, my mom was from the south. These are by far the best beans I have ever had. I am now a vegitarian and the flavor in this recipe is wonderful. I did decrease the salt when I made them. Theses will go into my frequent rotation. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
5 tsp of salt is way too much. Another recipe puts 1tsp, and I'm going to try that. I had to throw it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
We make these beans all the time. Everybody has different tastes. So for my family, I had to make a few adjustments. We like our beans less salty and with less pepper. Use 1/2 the salt, only add 1/4 tsp. of pepper, 1 T. garlic, no cumin, or jalapeno. Kids will eat the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is so good and so easy. My family loves this recipe for refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and I really liked this recipe and he normally doesn't like beans AT ALL! I did omit the jalepeno - the hubby doesn't like it in anything, and I doubt our almost 2 year old would like it. I thought the recipe called for too much ground pepper so I only used 1 tsp and I still thought it was wayyyyyyyyy to peppery for my taste. I'm only going to use 1/2 tsp next time around. Remove some of the broth and use a hand immersion blender until your desired consistency. I've used that method for years. I have always made beans on the stove, but wanted to try the crockpot so when I came across this recipe, thought I'd change my normal recipe too. I'm gonna stick with this version. I never got any complaints about my old recipe, but I like this one (minus the extra pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
These were great! Thanks to all the helpful reviews I learned to cut back on the salt, so I used some chicken bouillon cubes instead of plain salt. Instead of manually mashing the cooked beans, I put them in the Kitchen Aid mixer with the whisk attachment (and a little lard), and they turned out good and creamy. I don't think my family believed that I actually cooked them.!! I was told multiple times that they were 'restaurant quality'. This recipe goes in the keeper file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Good but needs at whole teaspoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
It takes hours to make the refried beans (Mexican way), and the beans doesn't come out; well; like beans. This recipe is easy and the beans is very flavorful. My hubby loves this recipe, no more making bean the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The first time I made this was a disaster. The beans were still hard after 8 hours and I had big chunks of onion. The second time I soaked the beans for a few hours and sliced the onions. Turned out wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States