Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The first time I made this was a disaster. The beans were still hard after 8 hours and I had big chunks of onion. The second time I soaked the beans for a few hours and sliced the onions. Turned out wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe for a party. After it was cooked, I strained the liquid off into another pot and then mashed the beans in the crock, adding the captured bean water as I went. Two things I would've done differently are: cut down the salt and add a lot more liquid than I thought I needed because the warm setting on my crock pot really dried up the beans. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Nobody in my house would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
First off, I live at a high altitude (a bit over 7,000 ft.) but the beans were still done after 8 hours, which is awesome. I didn't use jalapeno, which I think I will next time as these were bland. Also WAY too salty, probably 3 teaspoons (or less) is enough, especially if you are eating it with cheese, as that adds salt anyway. I doubled the cumin (in another recipe I have it calls for 2 tsp. with this many beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Super easy and delish. Tastes like the beans my mom made. BUT next time I'm cutting the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I grow my own pinto beans and my family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was an awesome dish! I read other reviews, and decided to use 3 Cups chicken broth for liquid, and only 2 tsp. of salt. So easy and awesome, not any leftovers at the family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
A bit salty, I should have read the other reviews, but really easy and tasty nonetheless . A refried taste without the high fat content. I'll make this recipe again but will reduce the salt !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
5 tsp salt is definitely too much. I cut it to 2 tsp and that wasn't quite enough. I'll try 2-1/2 next time--and there WILL be a next time. You can't beat the texture, and the hint of jalapeno and onion were perfect. For those who like any amount of heat, at least double the jalapeno. We prefer things mild, and the flavor was there without any real spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I tried it and it came out so delicious. I added bacon grease and it gave it amazing flavor. (so I recommend the bacon grease.) Also be quite careful about the salt in this recipe. It is WAY too much! Add less salt or add salt slowly and gradually until you get the taste you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States